severe unrelenting leg pain

in #health6 years ago

Imagine living life with severe sharp shooting pain radiating down the leg to the foot, weak foot that flops around when you walk, and nothing helps!!

This lovely patient was living this reality. Her MRI is shown below with a large disc herniation in her lower spine. I took her to surgery and removed the pressure off her nerve. Thankfully, she has healed quite well and her pain is completely gone.

Fascinating field of neurosurgery!

IMG_3161.JPG

Sort:  

The pain the person must have been going through. The spine looks to be bent in the photo? How long did surgery last and recover time for patient?

Hello arnoldsteem. The spine has lost the normal curvature due to degeneration over the years Surgery typically lasts 1.5 hours and recovery time is about 4 weeks. Thx for the great questions!

I gave you some lovin How bout you give me some too?

Your posts look great! Upvotes for you!

Unfortunately, I know this pain all too well. It is maddening. I had spinal fusion with hardware(cage, screws, and artificial disc) a few years ago, but the pain isn't gone. It is better than it was, but never goes away. The worst part is that I can no longer sit on the couch for more than 10 minutes before my back spasms. I hope this patient has a better result than I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26