HOLISTIC approach to medicine. GINGER - one of the best supplements out there!!!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

20180111_065339.png

One of the biggest reasons I pursued my career in pharmacy is my fascination with natural and holistic medicine. I believe that we have evolved over hundreds of thousands of years next to the local plants that have almost all the healing properties we might need. This idea goes well with the Ayurvedic, Chinese, and other ancient medicines that have been around for thousands of years as well. Not to take away the credibility of modern day medicine, most of the medications that we have now have been derived from the same plants used in ancient medicine.

As an example, take a lettuce leaf. As a biologist and a doctor of pharmacy I can tell you that at best, we know about 1-10% of what kind of enzymes, mineral salts and other compounds comprise that leaf. And we know even less on how these compounds interact with each other, furthermore even less on how they interact with and in our bodies.

Just to be clear, I still go to my doctor regularly and follow the modern Western medicine guidelines for any illness or trauma. However, I use natural or over-the-counter supplements that are closely derived from medicinal plants in my everyday living.

20180111_065300.png
(I'll take that prescription)


Today I will talk about Ginger. It is one of my favorite supplements out there. I've been using it for many years for indigestion and related issues. I do have a problem that many can relate to- I like to eat. A lot. And if I over eat before going to bed- I wake up in the middle of the night from nightmares and can't get back to sleep until the morning, so I feel groggy and tired all day. This is where Ginger comes in. I like to take it in capsules or chew on thin root slices. If I take a few capsules before going to bed- I sleep through the night and feel great in the morning.

20180111_065541.jpg (Ginger root and powder)

Aside from help with digestion and related conditions like heartburn, gas, and IBS, Ginger helps with has numerous other properties that have been clinically proven. For example it has helps fight cancer (specifically pancreatic cancer) link to the study: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4427290/

It also helps lose weight, increase memory function, it is great for nausea ( I suggest it as an OTC option for my pregnant patients), improves blood circulation, blood sugar levels, and reduces inflammation thereby helping prevent some chronic illnesses. Link to the study: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3253463/

The only thing to watch out for with Ginger is that it is a known blood thinner, so if you are predisposed to bleeding or if you're taking other blood thinning agents like warfarin- you might need to be careful. When taking Ginger make sure to drink plenty of water as it has some light diuretic property so you don't become dehydrated. As with any other medication or supplement consult with your own doctor or pharmacist for advice.

Ginger root and capsules:

20180111_065421.png

(Photo source: istockphoto.com)

Sort:  

Ginger is one of my favourites. Comes up in the natural healing literature a lot. For good reason, I think. Added in food, or in a drink such as tea. That's what works for me anyway. Great post.

I also love ginger, there is a little extra from me to try the combination of ginger and honey. and feel the difference.

I agree, ginger and honey are great together. Thanks.

Ginger is also great when added to food or drink to keep you warm in winter. I didnt know its a blood thinner as well, will bear that in mind.

Good point! Thank you!

I am a firm believer in more natural remedies than taking medications and pills.
GINGER is an amazing root to use. I love the tang it adds to my smoothies and herbal teas.

Awesome piece on Ginger. You just reminded me to always have it in my kitchen. Thanks sir @nerdy. alex.

I'd like to invite you join us on the first ever steemit decentralized clinic called @air-clinic. Join us o discord with https://discord.gg/rqded5m. Will be looking out for you

Thank you! Will definitely join!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nerdy.alex from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I had heard a little on the benefits of ginger this was very interesting

You are welcome

This is a great read! I love ginger, and now I love it even more!

Awesome! Thank you!

I take ginger powder but I had no idea it had so many benefits..interesting post!

I really agree with what you say. I am a nurse but I do not believe in medical drugs, I am more confident and believe in natural herbs.as you said, medical drugs come from natural ingredients, the difference is not entirely natural. but mixed with other chemicals.I am a consumer of ginger and honey, before sleeping I usually take the time to chew ginger.

In Asia, ginger is one of the remedies used during confinement times :) @nerdy.alex I heard some ladies stay slim from it too :D

Good to know! Yes it does help lose weight indeed. Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70