Why I Stopped Using Conventional Oils and Replaced Them With Coconut OilsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Coconut oil is an amazing product that is incredibly versatile. It can be used in a number of applications around the home.

20170719_081952.jpg

So much so that it is a featured item on my subscribe and save list on Amazon! I've been using it at home for nearly 6 years now after learning about it when researching topics for my website. I had read that it was great for use in cooking which was primarily why I bought some and after a few days or so of using it I discovered so many more practical and medicinal uses for it. Needless to say I fell in love with this super light, fluffy and gorgeously scented oil.

How is coconut oil made?

Coconut oil is best when bought as a raw, organic and virgin product. Unfiltered unadulterated pure natural goodness. To achieve this the oil is extracted from fresh coconut meat without drying first. "Coconut milk" is expressed first by pressing it out of the wet coconut meat. The oil is then further separated from the water. By using this method there is no need to heat it, which preserves all the properties that make coconut oil so good.

coconut-1771527_640.jpg
Image Credit: Pixabay

What makes coconut oil so healthy?

  • It is known to be high in saturated fat, the good kind that helps to lower cholesterol

  • It has anti inflammatory properties

  • It is anti fungal properties

  • Anti aging

  • Can help prevent cancer

  • Can help boost weight loss

  • Helps improve type 1 Diabetes

  • Can improve thyroid function

Here's a list of all things I have found coconut oil helpful for:

  • Cooking. I use it for salad dressings, in home made bread recipes, stir fries, baking. Pretty much as a replacement for corn or sunflower oil.

  • Moisturiser. I use it on mine and my childrens' skin. It works great on wet skin straight out of the shower. It has healed the dry skin on my elbows and cleared up acne on my face.

  • Breastfeeding. Works great as a nipple cream. It's also non toxic to baby and can combat thrush in baby's mouth and on the nipples.

  • Diaper Cream. Its gentle and effective at helping prevent diaper rash. Its perfect for use with any type of diaper especially washable ones as it doesn't affect the waterproof lining.

  • Lubrication. Makes a fantastic lube for intimate evenings with your significant other. Not recommended for use with condoms as it has been suggested that it weakens the rubber. It also helps to prevent thrush.

  • Massage. Works great as a carrier oil or on its own.

  • Sunscreen. Coconut oil has a natural spf of around 4 to 8. I use it to give me some protection. For my kids, I add it to a mix of zinc oxide and avocado oil and it makes a fantastic sunblock.

  • Hair. It works great as a leave in conditioner or for a more intense treatment, apply to hair and leave overnight. Wash out in the morning and hair will feel steonger, shiny and super soft.

  • Leather Great for cleaning leather products and creates a good waterproof barrier.

  • Burns, bites and spots. I first discovered the topical use of coconut oil when my baby scratched himself. I put some coconut oil on his skin and the scratch was gone after 1 day. It helps relieve mosquito bites and minor burns too.

All in all I'm a huge advocate for coconut oil. I can't get enough of it. If you haven't already tried it, I would highly recommend.
If you use it, let me know in the comments as I'm always looking for new uses also.

Thanks for taking the time to read this article. If you liked it, feel free to resteem or upvote. You can follow me here > @naturalcures

Sort:  

I'm a huge advocate of coconut oil for everything. However, it has been a huge help for dealing with skin conditions. Awesome post once again @naturalcures!

Thank you. Glad to hear I'm not the only coco'nut' 😂

I did the same! Long live the coco.

The best oil out there! We used it for nearly everything too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95