You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Body Positive Campaigns Having A Negative Impact on Our Health?

in #health6 years ago

I could not agree more! Although I don't have kids, I started rapidly gaining weight a few years ago. It wasn't so much my looks that I was concerned about - although that was an issue. It was my health. And so many people who told me it was "just my age", and I should stop worrying! I didn't accept that it was my age, and thankfully after a lot of trial and error I found out that I was on the verge of hypothyroidism. It took me a year to self-treat it, by taking high doses of iodine, and only then was I able to lose the weight. I am so much fitter now, and loving my renewed health. I dread to think where I'd be now if I'd just accepted that weight gain.
I would never look down on someone because of their weight. Everyone has a different natural shape. But I agree that the issue of "body positivity" is a very complex one.

Sort:  

I'm glad you were able to identify the problem and improve your health.
Yes you are right, it's about taking care of ourselves. Some people are naturally bigger than others, even if they do excercise and eat healthy. There's a fine line between embracing your own body shape, keeping fit but not hating yourself if you don't turn into one of the models on a magazine cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85