You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk Shit! IBD Awareness Month

in #health6 years ago

I was diagnosed with IBD 20 years ago, after terrible digestive problems and lots of tests, including a colonoscopy and the other one where they put a tube down your throat, which was ghastly! Luckily for me, I found out that an intolerance to cow's milk was causing my problems and once I cut that out, my digestive problems ended. Even now my doctor occasionally asks, "Didn't you have IBD?"
I know Crohn's disease is a lot worse, and my dairy intolerance symptoms gave me just an idea of what that might be like.

Sort:  

Endoscopy, yes they are not comfortable at all. Food intolerances would be considered IBS, which are not fun but can most of the time be settled with changes in diet, like you or stress factors are another key player for many suffering IBS, but in saying that I think that stress plays a lot in flare-ups of IBD. I am super glad that you got yours sorted with not to many issues. Thanks for stopping by :)

Actually you're right to point out that it was IBS, not IBD that I had, though the doctors told me that there was inflammation in my bowel, and I was prescribed drugs for life (which I never took). At the time (late 90s) I couldn't even discuss food intolerances with my doctor, as she thought that was all hocus pocus!

Yeah back in the day it would have been very hard to distinguish between the two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76