Do you know what's in your coffee?

in #health7 years ago

pexels-photo-414749.jpeg

Coffee, it's one of the world's most consumed beverages, and it's everywhere- in people's kitchen cupboards, on every street corner, brewing in offices. People love their coffee. But one of coffee's biggest kept secrets is about to be uncovered and it may change how you feel about it.

I'd like to reveal the nitty gritty details of what's left out of your coffee's ingredient list.

"Dirt, corn, twigs, soybeans and other fillers are appearing in coffee", reports the Washington Post.

Common coffee fillers:

  • wheat
  • soybean
  • brown sugar
  • rye
  • barley
  • acai seeds
  • corn
  • twigs
  • dirt

These ingredients are at least natural but what would you think if I told you there's even worse ingredients hiding in your coffee? Yes, that's right. IT GETS WORSE.

3365686309_c56df2c130_o.jpg

"Cocaine-like brain chemicals and the juice of death" are being gulped down in your morning coffee, reports Business Insider.

Other not-so-great ingredients in coffee:

Caffeine


Naturally present in the beans; effects the brain much like cocaine

2-Ethylphenol


A component of cockroach alarm pheromones

Quinic Acid


A starter chemical in Tamiflu

Acetylmethylcarbinol

620px-(R)-Acetoin.jpg

Used as an artificial butter flavor

Putrescine

spoiled_meat_7.jpg

Naturally present in the beans but also occurs in spoiled meat.

Why are coffee companies adulterating our beloved beverage?

Coffee companies have resorted to these measures to protect their bottom line. The rising demand for coffee has made it difficult to keep up with production. Additionally, coffee is not an easy crop to grow. It can't be grow just anywhere, and changing climates are making coffee growing all the more difficult.

If someone asked, 'What would you like in your coffee?' you wouldn't say: 'a teaspoon of roach pheromone and a nice twig to stir it with. But as you can see, that's exactly what's happening if you're buying ground coffee. The safest bet is to buy whole bean coffee and grind it fresh, especially if you have food allergies.

Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Sort:  

well, even if there is dirt in my Coffee I‘m addicted to it too much. I simply need coffeine to be active on steemit and earn money :))

LOL, I know what you mean!

This is pretty scary and sickening.
I drink coffee in mornings, but after watching this video which is awesome, I just might change that.

I had heard about fillers in coffee but I didn't realize how crazy some of them are. It's outrageous that coffee labels just say coffee.

Yes. I totally agree with you on that.

Can't drink much coffee cos of hypertension, but like it very much. Always boost me in the morning :-)

I drink coffee, too @bestcooking.tips. I've only been off of it for very short periods of time... I think it's bc I was given coffee in a sipping cup as a toddler, no joke ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40