You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Buddhist 10 Fold Path

in #health6 years ago

I've really enjoyed following this series. It's odd how different cultures in the USA are from eastern countries. I remember how natural it felt when I saw monks making the rounds for alms in Thailand. We sure don't have such a culturally accepted way for lay ppl to support monks in the USA! I appreciate the inspiration and knowledge, thanks.

Sort:  

I think all the religions taught here in the United States except Native American and the Mormon religion are from the east. I know many Buddhist retreats and lay centers that have tried to establish alms rounds, it's been difficult. I think it is because the state took over welfare and know JP Morgan hands out the food, I mean money...

Back in the day, even during my time as a child the needy were taken care of by the community they lived in, times have changed and Buddhism doesn't fit into a state run model unless it is the state religion. Korea, China, Japan had Buddhism for it's state religion, much like the West had Christianity as its state religion and the Middle East has Islam for it's state religion. Thank you @mountainjewel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89