Piriformis Syndrome Put Me Out Of Commission Going On 2 Weeks And Counting

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Before you ever agree to invasive spinal surgery, make sure that is what is required. A little known muscle, the Piriformis can generate a wide variety of symptoms including exactly mimicking very painful sciatic nerve pain at the extreme, which is what happened to me. This is because the sciatic nerve and piriformis cross each other in the buttocks region. I inflamed my situation from doing some simple hamstring type stretches a bit too agressively and the pain has been as bad as I have ever experienced, this coming from someone who played contact sports like football and hockey and broke bones. I was barely able to stand up for a few days, and had to stay bent over to do that.

I found a chiropractor that knows how to treat this and I am slowly getting better each day, but it is still quite painful. I wanted to share this because everybody told me how I blew out my spine and needed disc surgery. This chiropractor told me he has had a few patients that had disc surgery and were till in pain, until they found him afterwards. For me, going to a surgeon is the last option to take. If you go to a vacuum cleaner salesman, guess what your will go home with. Well, same with a surgeon in my opinion.

I had never actually been to a chiropractor before but after doing a bit of research, a little prayer, I had decided that although I could not rule out that I had blown out a disc, I thought that Piriformis Syndrome was a real possibility, so decided to find somebody that could help me figure this out and then help improve it as well. I figured a chiropractor was the easiest option to do this but needed one that had piriformis muscle experience as well, and was lucky enough to find one that sounded quite confident close by. After a week of being in this unbearable pain, one visit with this doctor, I finally felt some relief, as well as after visit 2 and I have gotten better each day since. I have another visit coming up, but feel confident I am on the right path to getting fully recovered now.

Sometimes you have to think out of the box, truthfully, I do all the time, but many people do not. The obvious choice for me would have been to head to the disc surgeon, but thank God I did not. If anyone else has similar experience or input, I would love to hear it as I am still in the recovery mode and it would be much appreciated.

Here is a bit more info on this somewhat obscure malady that can be for some, just a bit of minor discomfort, or for others like me, totally debilitating.
https://runnersconnect.net/piriformis-syndrome-running/
MOTOWNGOLD!

Sort:  

Thank you for your post I understand completely

I should do an update to this story as I am 100% better and none of my issues were due to a spinal problem. All Piriformis muscle!! I cannot put into words how painful this was, and I am told it can be the same as if you blow out a disc badly. My pain was a 9 or a 10, now completely gone thankfully.

Wow really no pain.
I can't even imagine that I can't remember the day without it.
My legs and back have always give me constant pain but piriformis syndrome got worse after my hip was replaced on that side.

I found this post on a Google search.
Yes and update would be cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77