Has the fallout from a nuclear accident caused my unusual markings?

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Hi my name is Jo and I have lived with the somewhat distinct markings of Heterochromia Iridium all my life .. What is it I hear you ask?... well if I said Odd eyes, you may understand..

There are two types of Heterochromia one is sectoral the other is complete..

My right eye started life as a little fleck of brown on an otherwise green eye and gradually as I grew older it increased in size to almost fill my entire eye.

It has always been a conversation stopper when talking to a stranger they will inevitable say " look at your different eyes, they are amazing"..

I love having odd eyes and share the uniqueness with many celebrities.
In some cases, this anomaly is extremely noticeable, in other cases it is a bit more subtle. Either way, everyone listed here has the relatively rare and really cool condition.

Prepare to be amazed, because some of these famous people with different colored eyes are without question among the most beautiful women in Hollywood and some of the greatest film actors and actresses of all time, too.


KATE BOSWORTH

Is having heterochromia a blessing, or a curse? Looking at the celebrities with different-colored eyes here, it's easy to believe it's a blessing. Some of the most extreme examples of celebs with heterochromia is Kate Bosworth (one blue eye and one hazel eye

Sometimes, a celebrity has a very, very subtle heterochromia, where only part of the eyes are mismatched in color or the color difference is just barely there. Examples include Henry Cavill, Demi Moore and Jonathan Rhys Meyers.


JANE SEYMOUR

Actress Mila Kunis, a staple on any list of the most captivating celebrity eyes, also has heterochromia. Look closely: Mila's left eye is green and her right eye is much darker, almost brown.


MILA KUNIS

David Bowie, one of the greatest musical artists of all time, is included on this list, though there is some disagreement about whether Bowie actually has heterochromia. Some believe his mismatched eyes are the result of one eye being permanently dilated from falling out of a tree as a child. Either way, Bowie was the ultimate "Odd eyed celeb"


DAVID BOWIE

NOW FOR MY THEORY

Despite the initial wow factor of odd eyes it has always been my fascination as to why I not only have odd eyes on my right side but also a large birthmark on my right leg

and I also have small patches of Vitiligo (white patches) on my right torso..

WINDSCALE FIRE
Surprisingly nobody panicked in October 1957 when a fire started at Windscale nuclear site just up the coastline from Barrow.. For three days 11 tons of uranium burned.

So 14 years later I was born, My parents had by then drunk the local water, breathed the local air, swum in the sea and ate the local produce again and again day after day, week after week ... a scary thought that during those years numerous rare cases of Leukemia had been found , children and adults died around the area.. By 1981 Windscale was renamed Sellafield.

Could this have caused my unusual colourings?

I think myself lucky.. My family has moved away from Barrow now but during my childhood in my street alone we had a lady with MS, a boy that died of leukemia, 2 adults who died of Cancer and a boy who could not grow.

I would love to hear about anyone who has had any similar stories..

Sort:  

Really interesting. I have always been fascinated by multi colored eyes. If you don't mind, could you please add a picture of yourself with a steemit sign with your username. Just so we know you're really human :)

I will try and do this, that is a photo of me at the top which is the only one I could copy a link from so I will have a go at uploading another picture later.. many thanks for your comment.

No worries. Many people use steemimg.com to upload their photos. It is free and pretty simple to use. Let me know if you have any questions.

Very interesting post you have here :-) Again, heterochromia maybe already in your DNA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42