Social anxiety

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I'm sat here in a cafe and I've spent the last 2 hours trying to focus on completing the 2 articles I came here to write. In the first 30 minutes a guy came and sat on the table right next to me. It was clear that he was just minding his own business; he had just sat down to get some writing done. I just couldn't help but look around at the empty seats all around the cafe. This is a spacious cafe with plenty of seats free. Why doesn't he just sit on any of the other 5 tables? I think to myself. I then think about the fact that I'm overthinking this situation and should probably just get on with whatever I came here to do. I couldn't help but feel uncomfortable. A few glances at my screen and I just decided to move my table back so I was right up against the wall.\n\nI have this same issue on the train when I'm reading a book and I can see the person sat next to me is subtly leaning in to see what I'm reading. I know that's what they are doing because I've seen many other people do it to others on the train and it can be really uncomfortable. I find myself just staring at the ads placed strategically above them. On-train advertising is maybe the only effective physical advertising left. I mean who looks at billboards anymore. Everyone's on their phone watching youtube, reading an e-book, playing a game or reading some random article they clicked on to pass the time. 👀\n\nTL;DR : I don't like unnecessary interactions with people.\n\n\n\nPosted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59