How to series: 5 easy ways to lose weight without exercise while at work, home, and public outings daily

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Steemit-5-easy-ways-to-lose-weight-without-exercise-while-at-work,-home,-and-public-outings-daily.jpg

What's the quickest and easiest way to shed some calories from the post-December festivity? It's easy actually, if you're willing to slightly alter your January daily eating lifestyle. I was able to decrease my weight slowly with this method. Bonjour Steemit friends! Happy New Year 2018 and I thought about my own New Year Resolution this year…which includes healthier well-being and lifestyle for myself. For today’s post I would like to share my daily eating routines during work time that kept me healthy, including the amazing tricks to shed of a few calories per day.

I was originally inspired while chatting away with my work coworkers about health, and would love to share my own tips with you on how I managed to maintain my own waistline while working in an office setting. Besides being able to shed some weight base on modifying office lifestyle, I am also getting paid doing it without feeling guilty!

Note that these are general tips not restricted only to people who works out of an indoor work environment, but can also apply to any general environment including home setting and outdoor. I am also not a health professional, and these are methods in which that help me in maintaining my health and I am happy to share my secret strategies with you for your own health success.

Here are 5 easy eating habits I find helpful in my own journey to shed a few pounds at work; the best part is that I do so with little physical effort but huge emotional and spiritual rewards!

(1) Drink lots and lots of H2O

potable-water-stadtwerke-arnsberg_TeaserImageBig.jpg

My colleagues and I had an interesting debate around the confusing mentality with eating food over drinking water whenever feeling fatigue. Let’s face it, when one is working and using mental brainpower and energy it’s easy to get tired. Commonly enough this is mistaken as feeling hungry, and therefore there’s the urge to consume extra calories in order to “feel good”. Next time instead of grabbing that bag of chips, try to carry around a water bottle in the office. I bring my water bottle daily to work, adding energy-boosting and calorie-free citrus fruit such as lemon or lime slices, mixed with a little bit of honey for added flavor. I would always hydrate my body by drinking lots of water, because lots of H20 means increasingly the body’s metabolic rate that translate into….easy calorie-burning method!

(2) Drink that green tea

Depositphotos_11844929_l-2015.jpg

Growing up with a family of tea drinkers (you name it from English Breakfast to Earl Grey to Herbal to Green), I found my daily morning niche of drinking quality green tea to improve general health, including antioxidant and some serious fat-burning oxidation mechanism. Green tea has been proven by multiple studies of containing bioactive compounds that can improve brain function, fat loss, dental health, lowers risk of Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, cancer, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s.

Green tea, when steeped with a large teapot, means that I also get to share tea with my coworkers in the morning. It’s a great conversation starter, and everyone benefits from an awesome energy-boosting kickstart that sets a positive tone for the rest of the day.

(3) Avoid diet pop…. a sugary calorie-free no-no

397358C100000578-3843014-Would_be_mothers_who_opted_for_pop_with_artificial_sweeteners_or-a-16_1476690565727.jpg

Growing up in North America means enjoying certain lifestyles including the exposure to fast food and comfort food. A popular Western society lifestyle is drinking soda pop drinks, especially when big name brand companies promotes their products via media advertisement. Given the evolution of labeling nutritional contents onto the product itself, regular soda pop is infamous for its high-calories intake. Let’s face it, I had been a huge fan of the original Coca Cola before toning down my soft drink intake. A popular millennial alternative to consuming fructose and/or sucrose, is the diet soda pop evolution.

It may seem tempting to chug down diet pop to stay awake after lunchtime. However, stay away! Drinking diet pop may increase the likelihood for a person to overeat and therefore gain weight, and increase risk of developing diabetes. My rationale behind this is that hypothetically, if I drink calorie-free drink, it means that for my daily calorie intake, there’s room to consume extra calories via food. Prior to me understanding this concept, it was not uncommon for me to purchase lunch meals paired with “zero-calorie” diet soda. It turned out I ended up purchasing bigger meals, while in reality I was still consuming sugar. This must have confused my body’s metabolic responses because months later, after my visit from the doctor’s office I was tested with much higher sugar level in my bloodstream than prior to my diet soda frenzy.

Fast-forwarding to present time, I have minimized diet soda and replaced them with tea and water. It still amazes me greatly seeing many of my colleagues returning from lunch holding diet sodas with one hand, and meal combos with the other. I still treat myself with sugary drinks from time to time, but it’s a choice that now I’m much kinder to my body and benefits after giving up diet soda as part of my regular diet.

(4) Chew gum

869ed4decfec61cb.jpg

Chewing gum is not for everyone, but it’s something that works for me. I’ve always been a bit of a chewer since childhood. I love to nibble on food as I get through my day. A fun little experiment was how my brain responded when I chew gum throughout the day, vs., no gum chewing.

What I found out about myself, is that I got bored on my non-gum chewing days, and therefore I was more tempting to reach into my drawer and pulling out the junk food like candies and chips. On the days I was busy chewing gum, I had lesser desire to snack on food, and satisfy my cravings. I probably cut down a good 100 calories or more without nibbling away those junk food, and so that really adds up over a month’s time. So, get busy with those packets of gum!

(5) Have the healthy snacks within visible view, including that nutritious Chia Seeds.

2017-08-28_Healthy_Snacks_Opener_Blog_730x485.jpg

In my current work life, it’s a very busy and attention demanding one, meaning that I do not always have the luxury to take numerous work breaks during the day. Therefore stashing lower calorie and healthy food is key to a kinder mind, body, and waistline. Keep them in work drawers, purse, bag, and vehicle so these food are readily accessible to whenever needing to satisfy food hunger.

Also, along with those healthy snacks, try sprinkling some chia seeds into greek yogurt, oatmeal, pudding, smoothies, etc. It’s full of nutrient-rich protein, calcium, fiber, and omega-3 which once again are the healthy energy powerhouse in your body and are of low-calories. If possible, aim for the organic ones…now I know there is a cost difference to them but for long-term health benefits, organic is the better route in comparison to its non-organic family.

So there you have it folks! It's simple and easy ways to alter your daily eating habits and to maintain good health without any particular exercise. However, pairing this eating habit with exercise will produce the maximum health and weight changing results...and yes, I do exercise regularly as well and I hope you will also consider this as part of your personal health journey :)

Post written by: Miss.Kat

Sort:  

Nice article. Drink more water and avoid sodas. And I just finished my cup of green tea before I read your article. Keep posting. Upvoted and resteemed.

Hmmmmm intresting.......

Thanks @rafamushtaq! Haha....I'm happy to know that you enjoyed my article post! :) Upvoted your comment~ Hopefully get to see your post soon! Let's stay connected~

Thanks @draffanahmed. Totally agree sometimes the best way to reduce calories is to consume less calories :) Thanks for upvoting and resteeming! I upvoted your comment, and also supported another post of your for ongoing support!

Thanks for Sharing
Will put it into practice right away..

Hi @joagawu love your attitude around a healthier body! I'm happy to hear that you're putting it into your healthy practice! Upvoting your comment, and also checked out your post and upvoted your great work for ongoing support. Let's stay connected :)

Hi I’m going to resteem this. I actually use allot of these tips when I cut weight for jiujitsu competition. Good diet is key in any excersise program or fitness regiment. Hope someone picks this up and read and I can give this to my clients.
Hope we can support each other in future, would love to chat with you.@bigapplebo

@bigapplebo thanks for resteeming I am happy to know that you enjoyed reading this article! Jiujitsu wow that's serious sports you do there lol! Great job it's awesome for exercise, soul and the mind. For sure let's stay connected, and yeah will continue to support and comment on your videos too~ Upvoted your comment to support

nice post
you are a source of motivation to me as a begginner on steemit

keep doing the good work

i am also a newbie

upvoted and following you already

please visit my profile and support me

thanks

@mrposyble thank you! It's nice to hear I am a source of motivation for you here :) Upvoted your comment and also followed you :) Hope we stay connected!

Yes sure ma'am
We will.
.God bless

Keep up the good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84