A Healthy Mind and a Healthy Body

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Health and Fitness Challenge: At least 100 reps of exercise every day.

This is a fitness and health group on Steemit. People supporting each other to exercise and maintain their health. I encourage you to join in on this challenge, just doing 30 mins or more of exercise each day is very good for your health and well-being.

-It's ok to start with a number you're comfortable with if you can't reach 100. You choose what exercises to do. Weights; running or jogging; skiing; exercise workout; etc. 30 minutes of dedicated brisk walking, running, spinning; exercise can count as 100 reps.

@Steemmatt runs the group. Here is today's Fitness Challenge link.

A Healthy Mind and a Healthy Body

I find it most beneficial to keep both my mind and my body healthy and fit. For the mind, I have been practicing Transcendental Meditation and the advanced TM-Sidhis every day for the past 45 years. I find it helps keep my mind more alert and clear. It's also a technique for expanding consciousness and the mind will begin to naturally utilize more of its potential.

And while TM is just a simple mental technique, it has many profound benefits for the body. It clears out stress and tensions; improves mind-body coordination; can lower blood pressure; etc.

For best results one practices TM for 20 minutes twice a day - morning and evening sitting comfortably. No strain.

Transcendental Meditation is taught by qualified teachers in a course that takes about 1 to 1 1/2 hours a day for a week. If you are going to start you might as well make sure that you start correctly so a qualified teacher is a must. And yes I am a teacher of TM and I have taught a couple of thousand people....but I am mostly retired now. However, there are teachers of TM in every state of the US and in virtually every country around the world.

I'm putting a Link here to a recent 5 minute interview by Bob Roth, a Director of the TM organization. He gives a clear introduction to TM which I feel you will find to be helpful and enjoyable.

During TM the mind settles down effortlessly to a state of Pure Consciousness which is the source of thoughts.

My Daily Challenge Completed - 350 reps

Physical
200 reps - Walking 30 minutes X 2; includes down and up elevation of 300 ft
20 reps - yoga asanas - 10 min X 2
10 reps - pranayama (yogic breathing exercises) 5 min X 2
20 reps - 20 minutes of light dumbells

Mental
100 reps = 1+ hours X 2 Transcendental Meditation and advanced TM-Sidhi (morning and evening)

Walking/Hiking
Since everyday I write walking, I thought you all might be interested to see some of the terrain.

I hope you take your health seriously. Join this challenge group and start/continue on the road to good health.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65