Green Bean CoffeesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Good Morning Steemians,

This morning was a bit of an experiment. The weather again today is rather bleak and I needed something coffee- like to warm the insides of my belly.

About a month ago, I made a large order from a warehouse in Sweden that sells all sorts of delicious organic, raw and vegan products - amongst other things.

As part of that order, I randomly (I am still not sure why I was so intrigued) bought 'Green Coffee Powder'.

Maybe it was because it reminded me of this TEDtalk I saw, where Asher Yaron awaked my senses to the beauty of a real FRESH cup of joe.

Apparently, all the coffee we get her in Denmark, and many other places in the world, where coffee is vacuum-packed and 'sealed for freshness' is actually dead, nearly nutrition-less and lack lustre.

The coffee lover I am, I bought some green beans, found some youtube videos and began the uphill journey of roasting my own green coffee beans

ICoffeeBeans.jpg

It takes a relatively long time to roast coffee, especially when doing it at home, with a pan and wooden spoon. It took approximately 45 minutes and being smoked out of my kitchen for a fresh cup of java.

Needless to say, I can understand why we choose to the beautiful smell of vacuum-packed, regardless of freshness.

So, the idea of being able to skip the roasting, while maintaining the health benefits of coffee beans - green coffee powder sounded like a good idea.

Green Coffee Powder.jpg

Green coffee beans/powders contain very little caffeine and high amounts of chlorogenic acid, unlike its roasted neighbour.

Chlorogenic acid is found in many plant species and is said to have positive effects on blood pressure as well as weight management since it deters carbohydrates from being absorbed in the intestines. It is agreed upon that green coffee is healthy, but whether it truly can be used as a weight loss supplement or a long term solution to blood pressure is still up for debate.

I am also a bit unsure of what to think of my green coffee powder.

The taste was okay and the process of making it, was a bit too complicated for a morning on-the-go.

First, I set over a pot of boiling water. While the water is boiling I added two teaspoons of green coffee powder to my cup. When the water was finished boiling, I poured the hot water over the powder, and stirred every minute or two for 10 minutes.

Like tea, the green coffee needed to 'steep'.

After 10 minutes had expired, I strained the coffee from the green coffee powder sediments, warmed some oatmeal milk and drank my green java.

Finished_GreenCoffee.jpg

The taste and the color, could use a helping hand. The taste is a bit grass-like and the color is a bit of a watered down green.

The package says it can also be added to smoothies, yoghurts and porridges, and I am tempted to give it another try.

A latte with green coffee powder could also be a possibility.

Have any of you sweet steemers used green coffee powder before? Do you know of any good ways to use it in recipes? In cookies or cakes perhaps?

I guess I need to give it a few more tries to see how I feel about it.

The taste of grass makes it healthy, right?

Have a wonderful day, sweet steemies

💗 💗 💗

Sort:  

Congratulations @megnteglbjaerg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57