Leaving Minor Infections Untreated

in #health5 years ago

Most of us have had those days and weeks where you wake up with a runny nose and congested sinuses. For many, something like this we would just nonchalantly pass off as a virus or just a simple sinus infection.

I personally did this exact thing just last week. I had been congested and had slight pressure in my ears and thought, “It’s probably just a cold or a sinus infection. I’ll just leave it be and let my body take care of it.” This post is not about fearmongering or any of the sort. This is simply a cautionary tale to those who value their personal wellbeing and health.

A few days after these initial symptoms of what seemed to be a common cold appeared, I went to sleep one night fully expecting it to just pass on its own. Unbeknownst to me, that night a bacterial infection was beginning to spread from my sinuses and was beginning to penetrate my blood brain barrier. That morning I awoke with the most intense vertigo I had ever experienced. I was barely able to walk, was suffering from severe amnesia, and could barely even speak, and even when I could, I looked like someone who was blackout drunk. A family member noticed this and asked me what was going on, why was in such a stupor?

Under the impression that I was overdosing from some unknown drug, this family member immediately took me to the local hospital’s emergency room. Upon arrival, I was quickly committed and was seen by a neurologist. Upon seeing my symptoms of severe vertigo, dysarthria, and narcolepsy-like bouts of sudden sleep; the neurologist immediately ordered a CT scan of my head and upper body. What was perplexing to this doctor was that I had no visible signs of any possible neurological problems such as a stroke.

Further blood testing, culture testing, and physical examination showed that what had began as a simple sinus infection had actually developed into pharyngitis, sinusitis, influenza, and two middle ear infections. I was told that had my family member not been there to realize how much of a stupor I was in, as at the time I thought I was perfectly fine, those infections would have quickly spread into my brain tissue and possibly into my blood stream leading to meningitis or sepsis.

I was urgently given heavy doses of antibiotics, prednisone, and anti vertigo medications. However, as soon as this stupor has begun; it ended. The next morning I woke up in my bed with no memory of the prior day and a family believing I was on the verge of death.

This just goes to show that you shouldn’t ignore the signs of a possible infection, not matter how inconpicuous it may seem because a precious few hours could save someone’s life, or your own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @marushyne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53