Amazing Ted Talk: Muscle Matters, by Dr. Brendan EgansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Sarcopenia is the Age-Related Loss of Muscle Mass.

It is a serious disease, and it doesn't get enough attention in our society. Muscle wasting has a much bigger impact than just looking less buff. It is a major cause of falls in the older population, which can lead to fractures and reduced quality of life. Muscle wasting has a bigger impact than just looking less buff. It can be the determining factor which led to a fall that can result in a fractured hip, which can seriously reduce the person's quality of life, potentially for the rest of their days.

Consider the fact that the fastest growing demographic of people in the world is that of the over 65's. If our parents aren't there already, we will likely be one day.

In my next post, I will be talking about how resistance training- specifically body-weight exercise, can help to curb the development of sarcopenia and I will provide a program that can be used at home, with little to no equipment so be sure to follow @MarkCullen if you would like to use this yourself, or pass it on to your parents or grandparents.

Thanks for reading this post. My name is @markcullen, I am a final year B.Sc (Hons) Strength and Conditioning student with a keen interest in using the exercise science developed for athletes to improve the quality of life of the general population.

Sort:  

I am looking forward to seeing your next post on strength training.

follow @fitnessgroup for high-quality content on fitness related topics.
Use it as a high-quality feed on fitness or use it as a gate to professional discussions related to fitness and nutrition.
tag your questions or any valuable information you want to share with a #fitnessgroup tag.
If you like the initiative, delegate some steem power to this account.
thank you

Luckily I haven't run into this problem yet, but I still can't gain muscle mass. I've been doing sports for five years. I'm 18 years old. I understand that my metabolism goes very fast, and I should wait. But all my peers are much bigger than me. So I always try to exercise and keep myself in shape to look good. I used to work out because I only had relief, but I could not gain muscle mass. So I decided to see a doctor who advised me to buy this machine https://rats.army/product/rad140-testolone/ to gain muscle mass. I usually do not trust any supplements, but since it is safe, I started using it. I will tell you. Frankly, I was surprised with its effect on my body since it gave me more energy to work out in the gym much longer than without it. Now I am slowly getting back into the shape I dreamed of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52