You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life After 5 Months Of Intermittent Fasting

in #health6 years ago

Well done on changing your habits - that in itself is a challenge for many.

I've never tried the intermittent fasting, but I did do a 7 day water fast (no food at all, only water for 7 days straight) a few months ago.

I'd researched a lot into fasting, and decided to go the whole way and try the water fast. It was good for losing weight (as you'd expect), shedding body fat (I was, and still am overweight - although not massively).

The 7 day fast was also good for my skin, and concentration - which was a massive benefit for me.

I chose the water fast because of its detox/reset properties, and because of what I'd read about Ketosis.

I was surprised that after the first day, I wasn't really hungry. I did still feel a slight hunger (it never completely went away), but I didn't necessarily want food. And at the end, I felt I could continue longer, but didn't want to go too extreme on my first fast (I'll be doing another in the coming months).

It might be something to look into, but I think it's only really beneficial if you have enough body fat to convert to energy (as that's the fuel your body uses instead of calories).

General advice: check with your doctor if you have any medical conditions, and take the proper precautions if you choose this route.

Sort:  

but I think it's only really beneficial if you have enough body fat to convert to energy (as that's the fuel your body uses instead of calories).

Agree on that, otherwise it will start cannibalizing own protein, which is quite damaging.

General advice: check with your doctor if you have any medical conditions, and take the proper precautions if you choose this route.

100% agree.

Congrats on the 7 days water fasting, it's a huge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66