I Can See Clearly Now, The Rain is Gone...Thank You!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I'm back :)
Thank you so much to all of you who stopped by my last, very depressing post, and privately in Discord, to offer up a great many kind words, support, love, prayers, advice etc. Although I walked away from steemit, only for the week because I needed a break, I continually came back to read and re-read all of your lovely comments, and they truly helped me. I was in a real funk about a few things, and I guess just needed some time away, but figuratively and literally, the clouds have parted, the sun is shining, and I'm feeling happy and optimistic again.
ffyq85xo9b.png
I spent a lot of time in this pool over the last week, swimming lap after lap, not only to keep this semi-middle-aged-girlish figure taut :), but also because it's just so good for my head. There's something about water that is truly purifying, and little by little, I sloughed the negativity from my skin and my mind, and stepped out healthier and more true to me and who I really am, every single day.
6dhttfrgte.png

We had several very hard days of rain, off and on; you can see it coming down on the left side of this photo. The new palapa roof kept everything dry, but the water you see in the middle of the patio was simply run-off, because it was coming down so fast and heavy.

That's how I felt too; bad news after bad news, fast and furious; The skies mimicked my mood; dark, depressing, ominous. It wasn't anything in particular that sent me spiraling, but more of a culmination of everything, but all of the comments I received on that post reaffirmed for me that I've got plenty on my plate and actually deserve some time for me, because really, I'm of no use to anyone if I am compromised myself. I needed to become whole again.
0p7h3ttokw.png

It took a few days of doing nothing but what I wanted to do; I did a lot of swimming, reading books (imagine! :), cooking (which I find so therapeutic), gardening, hanging out with Brian, and watching my big cat Buddy, and my new kitten Wolfie, finding their way around each other. Like most things in life, it took a little love, patience, and time, but it all worked out in the end.
yq7ef0od81.png
9ek8m6grgf.png

I also spent time laughing, and at first it's difficult to do, especially if and when you stop laughing for any length of time, but my sons sent me these three memes, and they kick-started the whole hilarious ball rolling :)

yyw9dl9vrd.png

Stupid, I know, but so funny! And who doesn't love John Candy?! :)

y6pkqhckda.png

And for some unknown reason, I'm still laughing at this one:
kk8e1pl0sp.png
9ek8m6grgf.png

It really doesn't matter what makes you smile or laugh, I just know that laughter really is MY best medicine.

9ek8m6grgf.png

And as always, the sun eventually shines...
u7w0n81172.png

Thank you again for helping me see just that! I really do appreciate you :)

9ek8m6grgf.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

88qyl2he9d.png

9ek8m6grgf.png

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.5096917440684142
This post was voted: 53.74%

Thank you so much @co-in :)

Ah ah ah! Awesome! I love that photo of the big cat eating next to the little one! So cute.

Now... Let me find a gif to make you laugh some more.
Weird Cat.gif

hahaha thanks @trincowski!! LOVE it :)

Lol... this is funny😂😂😂

Loading...

It is good to read when someone manages to overcome a difficult time, I also like the cat pics and the meme with the girl in the bicycle hahahah ^^

Thank you @dedicatedguy! It feels so good to take my power back and make a choice to be optimistic and positive. Glad you liked the photos too ... the girl on the bicycle killed me too :)

It is always good to see you back on here. The clouds are parting and the sun is starting to shine through. Believe in that. Your soul knows it to be true.

...swimming lap after lap, not only to keep this semi-middle-aged-girlish figure taut :)

I can identify with that. Not the girlish figure of course but the middle aged. It takes three times as much activity to have the same results.

The joys of aging.

Stop by and drop a comment or two...missed you.

Hey! So nice to see you here :)

The break was exactly what I needed; everything just suddenly became too much, but a few days off (and not just from steemit, but life in general I think:), and my mind is back to where it should be: focusing on what's good around me :)

The joys of aging.

I wake up some mornings and my body feels much older than the young girl givin' it hell in my brain does :) My father says when he wakes in the morning and walks by the mirror, he always wonders what happened to that poor SOB last night :)

Stop by and drop a comment or two...missed you

aww thanks! I'll do just that :)

Beautiful pictures--not so much the ones your sons sent :) But the fact that they sent them is wonderful. You know I love the cats. Think of the years of happiness you have given those animals because you took the time, even when times were hard. I cannot, absolutely cannot, believe they are eating from the same bowl at the same time. They say animals pick up the personalities of the people they live with. What does this tell us about Lynn?

awww thank you so much @agmoore :) What a lovely comment! The little one occasionally wakes up in a fright, looks around wild-eyed, then quickly settles back. I think she has nightmares from her "old" life and it takes her a minute to realize that this is all real :)

Here's another one for you. It's a process, that's for sure, but last night, Buddy was asleep and the baby jumped up beside him. I thought he was going to give her a big bear paw sweep, but instead, he frantically licked her for about 5 minutes :) And check out the size of Buddy's paw compared to her head haha

🙂🐈🐈

All i wanted to say, after darkness you will always see the sunshine.. i am very glad that you deal with the depression so tactfully and succeeded to remove it and gave yourself chance to be happy and laugh.. courageous..

hope to see you always happy like this... have a great day.. photos are really beautiful..

Thank you so very much @priyanarc! It took strength, that's for sure, but it definitely was a choice that I made :) I appreciate your comment and support!

It is so good to see a post like this. Steem had been bumming me out with all the bad news. My life is going well so I was like I am a jerk they all have hard stuff and I am good and happy. Glad you are feel so much better.

Never feel like a jerk because life is going well for you!! I know what you mean though; you feel like you have to hide it a bit, like it's rude to show it if all kinds of awful stuff is happening to others! BS I say :)

So fill me in! What's the best thing going on for you right now? :)

Steem Monsters and work. I have had a fun time at work and glad they like me a lot. Also I Solar Panels and they are so cool for us in CA cause they are so much cheaper than buying elec. from company and good for the world. Also My 3 year old makes me smile a lot even when she is bad I see this person I made and she is just like me. My 10 month old little girl can stand up now and wants to walk so bad it will be soon. She is so smart already asking for more when she likes stuff and will play with her sister when we play with her toys. At least for a bit.

awww it makes me smile to hear you talk about your girls especially! I can tell you are such a proud father :)

It nice to note you are back. I hope you have had a great break week from steemit. I think we all feel the blues sometimes. Yes we need a break once in a while.

I love the pool shot! It so calm and very inviting.. where is this?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @maquemali :) It's good to be back, but yes, the break was well worth it and exactly what I needed :)

We're currently in Playa del Carmen, Mexico ... a little slice of heaven on earth :)

Oh yes! The steemit crowd had surely missed you especially the engagement league.. hehehe

Thats great to know you have had a wonderful break!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97