You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE PAIN OF NOT LOOKING SICK

in #health6 years ago

I'm glad to see posts like this. As a cancer survivor who never lost their hair, I can relate. Everyone assumed I was visiting someone when I went into the chemo ward for my treatments. No one can see past themselves and their own pain sometimes. It's definitely harder to feel supported when you feel like the way you look is being judged just because you don't happen to fit a stereotypical "Hollywood" tragedy aesthetic.

Sort:  

The society we live in teaches to label and judge without taking a moment to think or check what lies beyond appearances.

It's a sad reality. The truth of it though, is I was this way too, until I lived in that world. It taught a lot of tough lessons about self-evaluation of assumed perspective. It's given me a new attitude on the world as a whole and those who are ignorant of things. If I could go back in time and change things so I never had cancer...I wouldn't. This gift it gave me is that of a more compassionate life.

Same goes for me. Lyme changed me. It enabled me to discover my real self and become a better person, more compassionate and humble.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44