Why Self Love Is Nutritious For Your Mental Health

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Fall in love.png
They say that millenials are all about self-love, more than any generation prior. Are we onto something?

Mental health has been something America especially, seems to struggle with. When I was in high school, I was depressed and somewhat suicidal. I would cut my wrists as if that was going to make things better. Loving myself was not really at the forefront of my mind to be honest.

It's not a surprise that research has linked low self esteem to mental health issues.

We all deserve love, especially in those moments where we feel unworthy. Chasing love outside of ourselves is never the answer though. I thought I would find that love I was looking for in other people, in my relationships, my boyfriends, my family. They did not have the love I really needed because it was inside of me the whole time.

tumblr_nqbkpunYAi1u7jt09o1_1280.png

Self love is not selfish , it is an essential nutrient needed for our mental health.

Self love should be taken every day, just like a vitamin.

My new nightly self-love ritual is to put lavender essential oil in my diffuser next to my bed. It soothes my soul and puts me right to sleep! It is just a small act of self love, but it makes a huge difference in my sleep.

How have you loved yourself up today?

steemlvln.png

Peace and love to you all. If you enjoyed my post, please upvote it and follow me to stay up to date with my adventures + thoughts. Keep on steeming :)

Xoxox

Sort:  

Once you love yourself it is easy to love others ♥

agreed! Thanks for reading :)

My Pleasure thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46