ON FIGHTING DIABETES

in #health6 years ago

Today, I acknowledge the fact that life is better than I truly deserve. We are in a world full of pain and suffering, hardship and turmoil, regret and disappointment. It is the fact that I'm able to appreciate little things is, in itself, a big miracle. You see, when I was younger, I didn't understand gratitude. Living in a world where children die of hunger everyday, it didn't make any sense. For me it was ridiculous more so when I learned I have a juvenile Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus (hereditary, namamana, not because of diet), where I have to manage my glucose (sugar) levels by injecting insulin every day, since my pancreas has been damaged that it couldn't normally produce insulin on its own. I was very sickly and very thin before. If not properly managed, this could lead me to having more health complications like hypertension (high blood pressure), stroke (aneurysm), heart problems (cardiac arrest), blindness, nerve damage, and so many more. Before, at that moment ask God, "why me? I'm too young to have this disease."

And because I asked why, God took me to a higher level of testing my faith in him. Last January 2011, I got a big breast mass the size of a large egg that needed to be operated (benign, not cancerous). Not accepting my fate of being a suki in the hospital, I felt so down, confused, and hopeless that I lost trust in myself and in Him. Then, I prayed and asked Him for a sign. So yun nga, I met awesome people from all walks of life who inspired me and brought me back to the bright and colorful world.

I appreciate all the love and support that I endlessly get from my partner in life Jei Valdez, my parents, Antonio Racaza and Gemma Racaza, my son Brandon Lee Marion Valdez, my Valdez and Racaza family, my awesome health advocates XTRM team, and wonderful friends (you know who you are😍😚) ! Thank you for the encouragement, assistance, guidance and thoughtfulness that you have given me through all these years. And of course, I am forever thankful to God Almighty for giving me this beautiful life.

I learned that there's a big responsibility that comes with the privilege to live A HEALTHY LIFE. I am blessed to bless, I am gifted to give. I am expected to do something with the grace I've been given. And so are you. 😊

Do you know anyone that needs help? My team of doctors, nurses, therapists, and health advocates are very eager to listen to your story and help you achieve your #healthgoals because truly #thereshope 😍😘💪!

27720826_169225527041745_611868801_n.jpg27720882_169225510375080_1683559548_n.jpg

27847983_169225500375081_223180271_n.jpg27783711_169225497041748_2018931495_n.jpg

The story of a Juvenile (early onset) Type 1, Insulin dependent, which means needing to inject Insulin everyday forever to survive
Long post ahead. 😘

One of the many things I enjoy as a theater/performing artist is the chance to play different characters on stage. Sometimes, I'm lucky enough to mold characters that speak about my soul (soul talaga?😂 kasi hugot nga, di ba?), with the hopes that my emotions and message get across to the audience. Mind you, it's not an easy job, especially for someone with my condition na bawal mastress! If not properly managed, my body will break down! Leading to more severe degenerative diseases like hypertension/aneurysm, stroke, blindness, nerve damage and heart disease 😨😭!!! Buti nalang talaga, healthy lovelife ko. 😍 I love you, Bei! Jei Valdez

But you know what makes me really happy? Well, it's besides the pleasure of hearing the thunderous applause ring out, that is a given. But it is THAT awesome moment, when you are there, trying to ease your performance anxiety, battling negative thoughts in your mind "what if I mess up? Forget a line? Hit the wrong notes? Miss my cue?" (Yes, these run in my mind all the time 😫) but what really matters is the proper mindset of KAYA KO 'TO, I CAN DO THIS! On repeat. In reality, it's the same thing we encounter in life. I know you can all relate to this, di ba?

So what's my secret? Wala naman. Proper preparation lang talaga, mga besh! And to properly prepare myself for a big performance, I do vocal warmups, stretching and rehearse my lines, for long hours until it's director-approved perfect. 💯 👌

Of course, I also need to nourish my body by eating right (rich in fiber, like fruits, vegetables and whole grains 🌾🍌🍎 to keep my glucose (sugar) steady in regular intervals) and getting my deserved rest (for vocal rest and muscle and cellular repair 😴). And my ultimate perfect partner to achieving a great performance is the top-rated top-quality cellular nutrition USANA Essentials, with powerful 13 vitamins, 13 minerals and 20 antioxidants!!! 😍

Believe me, I'm very susceptible to low immunity, where I easily get infections around my body (ay naku, mas nakakastress magkasakit!), but ever since I've been taking good care of my health, it's really true that mas mahal talaga, not to mention damaging to the liver and kidney, ang ANTIBIOTICS, and mas mahal magpa HOSPITAL! Jusko! Kumusta naman ang dreams ko for myself and my family, di ba?

So I hope this post inspired you today to live your life passionately by being healthy and happy! Remember. #Bawalmagkasakit 😘

To learn more about how to join our #healthtribe and #healthadvocacy, comment below or PM me! My team of doctors, nurses, therapists, and health advocates are very eager to listen to your story and help you achieve your #healthgoals #thereshope

P.S. At this event, someone approached me and commented she was convinced I was 15 years old! Thank you, random stranger, I'm not even mad. #TrueStoryBro #TeenagerForevs
😂

Sort:  

@lourdjan it's a tough fight with diabetes I lost my grandma that way :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31