Post-Workout Vegan Smoothie Bowl!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

My favorite question I'm asked when someone finds out I don't eat meat is "but where do you get your protein?!" Hmm let's see, I get protein from literally everything I eat. Plants have protein, people!

My boyfriend @richardcrill and I took a 2 mile jog in the hot, Texas sun this afternoon and I was craving something cold & sweet afterwards - of course I also wanted something with protein and carbs to aid in recovery after our workout. We're about to go to Mexico in 4 days & I wanted to make something that would help me get rid of some of the food we still have in our fridge so it won't go to waste while we're away - smoothies are good for that. Smoothie bowls are even better.

For the smoothie base I used:
Papaya - high in vitamin C & A
Spinach - high in magnesium, iron, and vitamin b2 & b6
Banana - high in manganese & potassium
Ginger - anti-inflammatory & I put it in everything!
Pineapple (not pictured - I added that in last minute) - Vitamin c, fiber, & b6
Snapseed (2).jpg

For plant-based protein I used:
Chia seeds (6g protein/2 Tb)
Hemp seeds (11g/ 4 Tb)
Spirulina (4g/1 Tb)
Spinach (5g/1 Cup)

Snapseed (1).jpg

As you can see, something as simple as a smoothie can pack a major protein punch just by using whole foods - no protein powders here! This smoothie hit the spot & was boyfriend approved - and yes, he ate the flowers ;)

Sort:  

This looks so good! Love smoothies and smoothie bowls! They always look so pretty! Though I'm a flexitarian, I don't eat meat or any other animal products very often I get the same protein question over and over!

Did someone say, "Delicious"? or was that just my stomach.
https://twitter.com/jacobts/status/864973807253151745
shared with @steemtrail https://discord.gg/uwjBaHb

jacobts jAcΩb tweeted @ 17 May 2017 - 22:40 UTC

Post-Workout Vegan Smoothie Bowl!
@steemit @RichardCrill #health #yum #steem

steemit.com/health/@lindse… / https://t.co/Ka0III8L0Q

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks for the share @jacobts! I'll save some for ya next time :)

Yeah buddy! It was delicioso!

mmmme wants to visit Austin, if only for the tasty treats. :)

You have a place to stay and good vegan food anytime.

Are you vegan too Rich?

Mostly. I still have eggs and cheese rarely, so i guess im an aspiring vegan.

mmmmm, very tasty. I use a lot of those ingredients to make very filling smoothies, but I don't usually have papayas on hand. Hemp seeds add so much protein it's insane, more than most of the protein powders I've come across, and they taste better too! Followed you for more, follow back if you are so inclined

I don't usually have papayas on hand either, but I've been seeing them at all the grocery stores lately, so I keep buying them until they aren't seasonal anymore. Thanks for the follow - I followed you back & I see you live in Austin?! My boyfriend and I live just north of Austin!! Nice to see a fellow Austinite on Steemit! :)

That's cool, you are the first person anywhere near here that I've talked to on steemit. Did you get the papaya's at HEB? Such a good grocery store. Hot tip: Papaya's are great if you slice them up, scoop out the seeds, sprinkle with sea salt, squeeze a lime over it and then enjoy. The combo of papaya and lime juice is some kind of magic

Right?! My boyfriend and I had talked about doing some kind of steemit meetup in Austin, but we couldn't find enough people locally haha but I'm sure that'll change someday! Man, I have never tried papaya's with lime & sea salt but I'll def have to try that next time. I got my papaya from Whole Foods, but I've gotten better ones at Sprouts. I do love me some HEB though! They have everything!

I usually answer: "well where do herbivore get their proteins or what about frugivore monkeys, where do you think they get their proteins?" The funniest part is all the biggest and strongest land mammal are mostly herbivore or frugivore, gorilla, rino, hippos, giraffe, horse and well by then they get the point...

Haha that's the best response - I'll have to use that one next time! So true!

The animals mentioned above have stomachs that are capable of extracting amino acids from roughage. That's not to say that humans cannot exist without meat in the wild, but you get the point. There are reasons humans eat meat, etc...

Except you totally ignore the fact that I mentioned monkeys that only eat fruit... Also all of the biggest health institution in the world have said vegan diet are healthy. Also your paper is behind a pay wall...

"Aight", check out the full paper here. Monkeys eat rodents, blood.

Also there are 2 monkeys that are strictly frugivore. To be honest animal do a lot of stuff I wouldn't want to replicate. I don't thing we should base our moral on what animal do.

Could you resume the paper? I've seen a new paper publish this year saying fruit might have cause human brain to grow bigger and not meat if that's what this paper is about.

great apes ate plants but they sucked.
great apes ate plants but they sucked.jpg

Its really about how cooked animal meat has a higher per-calorie input than other food sources. Humans are great hunters and we adapted to eating animal meat. Do we have to? No. Is it more effective than eating the non-scare resource of bark (like animals eat), a resounding yes. For more check this out: Guns, Germs and Steel.

wow. that actually looks very good!
would be trying that sometime!

That looks amazing @jacobts Good, clean living. The finished product you gets extra points for presentation ;-) I bet you felt amazing after this one too!

Have you tried a NON-vegan "smoothie bowl?" It looks a lot like frames 313-315 of the Zapruder film.

Yeah, I've definitely had it with yogurt - they can be made NON-vegan without all that mess.

Don't look up, "frames 313-315 of the Zapruder film" on YouTube.

Love your smoothie post here @somegirlupnorth what do you think about my homecooked meals?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97