Turn That Frown Upside Down!

in #health6 years ago

Do you ever have those mornings when you wake up and realize you only slept for maybe a couple hours the night before? All you did was toss and turn, but now you have to wake up and be productive and you wonder how that is even possible? That was me this morning. I woke up feeling exhausted, irritable, and really wishing it was night time already so I could try this whole sleep thing over again. I came down to my living room, enjoyed a cup of coffee and tried to rest while watching the morning news, but my pups did not allow me to get anymore sleep. The harder I tried to rest, the harder they tried to get me moving and playing with them. Frustrating, really.

Now my boyfriend and I have been on a fitness journey over the last few months. We have changed our diets around, been riding our stationary bike, and really trying to make healthier choices. Our ultimate goal is to do the best we can to be happy with our bodies and selves by the end of June. Now of course, we have more than one cheat day in a week sometimes and have a lazy day here or there. I genuinely believe that lazy/cheat days are a part of being healthy, too!

However, we had lazy days over the weekend and no matter how tired I was, today was not going to be another one. So because my dogs drove me crazy and I was so frustrated, I said hell with it, lets get this workout over with! I biked for about 40 minutes. It wasn't the hardest I have gone during that time, but I did it. I didn't quit. I didn't lessen how long I rode for (I usually watch a show while I ride to help pass time). I DID IT. And somewhere along the way of those 40 minutes, I found a little energy. Okay, not energy, but motivation. Motivation to go on with my day. To make myself green tea with lemon and cinnamon, along with cucumbers with lemon juice and salt to snack on (even though I really wanted chips and queso). Even the motivation to write this post. I am less irritable. It's like that awful knot in my stomach that I felt all morning that just kept twisting over things I typically would not get upset over...is gone.

So with my motivation, I am going to take my dogs to the dog park and let them burn the energy that they had driven me crazy with all morning. I am going to finish cleaning my house and wash my bed sheets. I am going to make a smoothie for lunch and chicken fajitas for dinner. I may even enjoy a glass of wine with some brie and prosciutto later!

I started today with negativity and with a little bit of self care, I am determined to end it with positivity! And if you are having a day like me, I know you can do the same! Do some self care for YOU today. Go for a walk, color in a picture, lay in a bubble bath, sit in the sun, or listen to the rain. Do whatever it is that brings you back to your soul and goals. A little you time will go a long way!

Have a great rest of your day, Steemians!

Sort:  

Congratulations @lifesadance! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60220.70
ETH 2591.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55