At which stage of a sickness do you decide not to go to work?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0391.jpg

I’m a freelancer and not going to work for me means not earning money. Losing one working day means losing one-fifth of the whole income of a month.

Well, today I canceled my commission for Thursday in advance. Means 4 days earlier I decided to tell them I cannot come, so they could have time to find somebody else to do the job.

My illness started about three weeks ago and since then, I have some normal days and some days I just have to stay in bed.

Obviously it was impossible to tell if this coming Thursday would be one of those painful days in bed or a happy day out!

I also could not tell if going to work and stay sitting for almost 8-10 hours, would not worsen my problems. Therefore, I finally decided not to take the risk and called the client to cancel.

but the bad feeling stayed with me. Thinking that it was not too bad after all or I could eventually handle a painful day at work .. .

Have you had a similar situation? or can imagine having it?
What is your pain threshold? when do you usually give up thinking about your regular responsibilities and give a second thought about your health issues?!

Sort:  

I have several factors that play a role... For example:

  • Is it possible to quit your job after you have started?
  • How long is the way to and from work?
  • how helpful and understanding the employees are
  • If you endanger your employees or make them uncomfortable, you can endanger them with the risk of infection.
  • aso

and YOU?

////////////// deutsch ////////////////

mehrere Faktoren spielen bei mir eine rolle... Zum Beispiel:

  • ist es möglich seinen job abzubrechen nachdem man begonnen hat?
  • wie lange ist der weg zur und von der Arbeit
  • wie hilfsbereit und verständnisvoll sind die Mitarbeiter
  • gefährdet man durch Ansteckungsgefahr seine Mitarbeiter oder ist es ihnen unangenehm.

Dear Paule, Thank you for writing!
here are my answer to the factors you named.

1- hardly
2- 70 km
3- each time new people , so don't know
4- no danger for my colleagues

Deutsch
1- nicht wirklich
2- 70 km
3- jedes Mal neue Leute
4- Keine Ansteckungsgefahr für meine Kollegen

so, What would you say now?

Congratulations @lidae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59