The Road through Cancer Recovery

in #health7 years ago

Hi My Name is Jules,

As the title suggests this blog is going to be about my road through recovering from cancer and chemotherapy, taking care of my health, and being given a new chance at life.

In September of 2016 I was diagnosed with stage 4 esophageal cancer. I was given less than 4% chance to live, but I decided that I would live regardless of the odds of survival. Fast forward 6 months and I completely blew my doctors away. In March of 2017 my PET scan came back completely clear of cancer. How I pulled that off is a story for another time.

Its been two months since that scan came back clean and where I should be taking the best care of my body possible I've been enjoying food and wine and not working out consistently. I've put on about 20 pounds since my body stopped dropping weight from chemo and not being able to eat. I'm still recovering from cancer itself and even more so from the chemo. I'm tired most days and not ready to work full time yet. I have left over neuropathy which leaves me numb in on the tips of my fingers and bottoms of my feet. All of this needs to change.

My goals are to remain cancer free, to build up my energy and stamina, to get back to a healthy weight of 150 pounds by eating clean, walking 10k steps a day, and using light weights to build muscle. My goal to get back to a healthy weight of less than 150 pounds is to be completed by August 15th. I will write about my trials and tribulations, my ups and downs, the walking, eating healthy, and how I'm keeping cancer at bay.

Cheers!
Jules

PS- Remember to smell the flowers, they are quite lovely in spring and you never know when the last time you will see them will be!

17523332_10155081813005138_3628037351858241861_n.jpg

Sort:  

YES! this is my wife and she is my hero! I am glad to see you writing these things out. Proud of you for keeping your chin up and kicking cancers ass. #survivor

Congratulations @letsparksfly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69