Challenge Time!!! Getting into shape with a friendly challenge against my husband.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

In my goal to get back to healthy following cancer I was listening to an audio tape about health. One of the suggestions was to start a friendly competition in which you can cheer and taunt each other over a period of time until you reach an end goal. You put on the line whatever you want, but make it something good enough that you WANT to win it.

It just so happens that we are traveling to Disneyland at the end of next month for my daughters dance team. I personally am beside myself excited as that I haven't been there in 8 years and I find it to be fantastically fun. We aren't sure what to put on the line as of yet, but we are thinking about the one free day that we have during our vacation. Basically the winner of the challenge would have the right to pick what we do for that day. This appeals to both of us as my husband would likely want to go surfing, where as I really want to see the new Harry Potter Land.

Now the important part of how we choose the winner, also still in negotiations. Over all weight loss needs to be a contributor (maybe percentage of weight lost), I'm thinking I would like to add inches lost into our calculation, as that my husband is a much bigger human than I am and therefore he looses weight at a faster rate than I do. Finally I would like to have a small percentage of the number of workouts completed count towards a win.

So today... I attempted to get my first 10k steps of the challenge complete along with a start at some high intensity interval training. My puppy of 4.5 months had some other ideas. She was totally not into running a whole lot. First she would wait until the leash was pulled all the way out and then get jerked into the curb around the track and then she decided to run under my feet which lead to me kicking her, this wouldn't be so terrible if she weighed more than 5 pounds :( For the record she is fine and she didn't run under my feet for the rest of our time out. I did however manage 2 full sets of running sprints for a total of 8 minutes (mind you the first one was all broken up because of puppy). While this doesn't seem like a whole lot, while I'm recovering from cancer and chemo it was plenty! Hopefully tomorrow will go better.0524171348.jpg

Wish me luck!
~Jules0524171256.jpg

Sort:  

Get it girl! And the pupper tup will learn how to work out with you it will just take time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57710.10
ETH 2439.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33