You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Osteopathic Medicine? The field I study, and how it is different from the "traditional" MD

in #health8 years ago

I agree with the fact that that both are complementary (which you have not exactly written in your post but I guess my conclusion is not wrong, isn't it?). One problem may be related to people that want to totally get rid of MD and focus only on alternatives. In some cases, it will simply not work.

Sort:  

You make a good point. I think MD and DO have blended philosophies. DOs and MDs both believe that many medications are beneficial for helping the patient who is burdened by a disease. DO really emphasized preventative medicine, which is now a cornerstone in both professions. The idea of treating the "whole" person is becoming more widespread in the MD field. I think that what is special about the mind, body, and spirit model is that it is incorporated in every aspect of medicine during the DO curriculum.

Osteopathic manipulation to me is like another "tool" in my pocket to help a patient. If a patient had diabetes, I would obviously prescribe prescription medications (insulin if needed, ACE inhibitors, statins, ....). Osteopathic manipulation would not "cure" diabetes. It is not possible. However, if someone had back pain and wanted surgery, I think a DO would try more manipulation, and hopefully could prevent that patient from getting an unnecessary surgery.

DO is not alternate medicine by any means. It is, however, attractive to people who appreciate alternate medicine because it gives the body a chance to heal with using two hands.

Thanks for the clarifications! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42