You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Art of the Physical Examination

in #health8 years ago

Outstanding post!

As I told you or @imaxess (I don't remember exactly which of you), a lot of doctors, at least in France, know in advance what you have and do not listen. It becomes very difficult to find a good family physician which really listen to the patients.

As a result, I am personally only visiting the doctor when mandatory (like for practicing sports, vaccines or under employer's demand). I am alsk very rarely sick (or I don't care and est gently for a couple of days).

Sort:  

That is one problem that I am glad you pointed out. I am going into family medicine as our family has for two generations before me. Specialties are very important but a different skill. The skill of trying to remember all medical conditions is hard and overwhelming. However, it is very interesting. I prefer to try and remember the essentials of everything because I believe it is important to save lives/improve quality/preventative medicine. People need family doctors to diagnose, maintain health and coordinate care elsewhere if more concentration in one area is needed. Family medicine is a specialty, a three-year program after medical school. General medicine is not easier, it's a different skill to organize hundreds of thousands of facts. Many actually find this frustrating and harder than working in one area intensely.

Thanks for the precision. You mentioned prevention! That is also something incredibly missing those days. My impression is that the society prefers to cure ill people than to prevent the from getting ill. But maybe is this a to crude generalization?

PS: if you have some time, do not hesitate to pass by the #steemSTEM channel. We would be glad to have you there :)

Treating the patient not just the disease itself is a foundational point. However, in practice it is a hard thing to do. When people have health issues, it takes time to manage this and prevention is something that is very important to try and include as well. Patient compliance is even a harder task.

Thank you for showing me this group I will check it out soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43