You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Debunk-Tuesday – Deadly German Medicine

in #health6 years ago (edited)

That is a good one. Psychology is enough to cure everything, in short. Of course I have nothing against psychology, but psychology does not cure every single illness...

pfff...

Sort:  

but psychology does not cure any single illness

Don't let @abigail-dantes hear that :P

I would argue, depending on the medical issue, in favor of a combination of psychological and (non)invasive treatment. There are some indications, that a healthy mindset can help to increase the regeneration process. I'm probably going to do a post about this in the future as well.

As I said to @abigail-dantesm, I miswrote my original thought. I of course agree with her comment and there are illness that can be cured by psychology, depression being the first one to be thought off. Sorry about this.

Well, there you go Ego ... I agree with you here! 😃

but psychology does not cure any single illness...

Hey @lemouth, that is a bit of a sweeping statement over there 😊

Psychological treatments do cure mental illnesses, the positive outcome of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy in particular, is undisputed in many, many areas. Namely, phobias, OCD and panic disorders. Nowadays this psychological approach is also yielding positive outcomes in areas such as personality-disorders! Of course, it does not work for everybody. But, in these cases clients normally seek other approaches; eg. humanistic, existential and psychotherapy (which, as of late is regaining its lost credibility). This is one of the beauties of psychology.

Plenty evidence shows that well-conducted CBT is better than TAU and placebo. Further, in treatments that compare the outcome of CBT with that of ADMs demonstrate that patients who received psychological treatment (CT or CBT) show much more sustainable, long-term recovery. This is partially because the methods used to address one psychological illness - through CBT - can be applied to possible future issues too. This is something that has been observed over and over again.

I hope this makes you rethink your beliefs about the limitations of psychology regarding the cure of illnesses. 😘

Actually, I miswrote what I thought. I meant, "every single illness". I promise. Sorry about that!

I edited my comment ^^

you don't believe me :'(

😂😂😂😂

I DO!!! I DO!! Oh my God, I am laughing so hard right now.

😂😂

Pfewww then ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37