Learning from Autoimmunity

in #health7 years ago

Compassion. Strength. Resilience. Rest.

My physical health over the past few years is a difficult one for me to talk about, much less write about. I personally find it hard to talk about the things, or more so, this very thing, that I once saw as a weakness.

I could tell the full story of my road to and through being diagnosed with an autoimmune disease but I find it more important to share in pieces. My diagnosis is just answers and knowledge. It is not my end. It is my beginning.

Also, I would rather those listening, reading, learning, and seeking out guidance on how to overcome their physical ailments, to stop right now, and take notice of the fact that you CAN get better. You WILL get better.

It’s going to take work, a lot of mistakes. A LOT. but those mistakes are lessons in giving you more knowledge about what you as an individual need to do… for yourself to get better.

There is so much information I want to share and connect with others on but most times when people are inundated with loads of facts or opinions all at once, the very message that could have helped becomes an overwhelming chore. I want people to thrive. I want myself to thrive.

Here are a few lessons that I have learned, and still continue to forget time to time. Patience and Practice.

  1. Do not believe that the thing that you did yesterday is going to kill you because of something that you read on the internet. You are not starting all over again. Move forward, and turn that new fact you just learned into a positive tool.
  2. Try something, and do not expect results right away. It takes weeks, months, and years to notice a difference. One day you will look back, and say “hmm, my stomach doesn't hurt all day, err day now.” Maybe, that little piece of information about that supplement or food you were taking, eliminates a symptom in a few days.
  3. You are not the only one who is freaking out inside mentally and physically. Those people that just past you on the street, probably and most likely have something too. Different. but they too struggle.
  4. Your autoimmune disease is the same as every other one, you just have different symptoms. It all starts in the gut. Fix the gut, fix the brain, fix the body. Balance.
  5. Panic attacks are a result of what is happening in your body. Accept that you are going to have to have a panic attack. Do not fight it or resist it. Cry. Laugh. Move your body. Breathe. It really is ok to not be ok.
  6. You have to, you need to, and you will learn a lot about food. Along with everything else, physical fitness, exercise, moral support. They all help. Realizations come in time. If you do not think food is an important ingredient in your recovery, we are going to disagree on a lot. It’s important. Fix your gut. Start now.
  7. Dive in and let go.. takes practice… a lot of practice.

I can say that I have made leaps forward in my health. It’s been over a year since I got really sick but I think I am stronger than ever. My challenges have made me into a better person who cares more deeply about the world. By taking initiative on my health, I put better energy out into the world.

A new realization that I have learned lately is that maybe I am a canary. I was meant to go through this pain of feeling weak in order to help others grow. Maybe you are a canary too because you also have the ability to grow in strength, accept your challenges, and use those once traumatic events as catalysts for a better, healthier, more vital world.

Let’s create awareness on issues that revolve around autoimmunity. If you want to get better, you will find a way. I am here to help in whatever way I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15