You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My DNA test results are in! Can I eat CARBS or not?

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Is there any correlation with starch tolerance and rates of saliva production? I think largely because I am a dribbler, my tooth enamel, for how much neglect they have had, is inordinately well protected.

But lots of water does not necessarily mean effective carbohydrate digestion. On the other hand, I can eat inordinate amounts of carbs, I just develop problems with overheating and with certain grains (mainly oats), heartburn. Too much wheat also can make me susceptible to having allergic reactions that cause bronchoconstriction, and secondary allergies develop when this happens, to practically everything (solanacaea, melons, allium, rice, dairy).

Sort:  

If you are a low CNV, even if you produce a lot of saliva, the amylase would still be fairly low, I think. It also depends how well you chew, and how much of the amylase is getting incorporated into the food.
Heartburn with oats could be that you're not digesting the starches, but it could also be other aspects with the grains. The same with wheat. If you don't have problems with starchy veg like potato, corn and sweet potato, my guess would be that it's not the starch that's the problem, maybe the proteins in the grains.
Those secondary allergies are a bugger. (You're from Aus originally aren't you, so you probably understand the kiwi use of the word "bugger". Nothing else quite describes it.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59