What Doesn't Kill You Makes You More Indifferent

in #health7 years ago (edited)

There is a popular saying that "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger". I beg to differ. This might be true if you are a cat or if you going through a rigorous exercise regime. In reality, if you really come face to face with death by having your well being severely compromised, you are more likely to become indifferent about most things around you.

I had some pretty tough challenges from physical trauma. Having faced death a couple of times, I can tell you that what didn't kill me made desensitized to things that once mattered. Money didn't seem to have the same value as before. Instead, I am ok if I have enough to survive and pay for medical bills.

Things that brought me together in groups of people together such as sports, music and philosophical meetings dropped completely off my radar. Even casual socializing became boring to the point of avoidance. This was not depression as many people believe. I just lost complete interest. Most things around me started looking pedantic and more or less pointless.

Instead, my attention shifted towards long walks in the park and tending to my garden. Fixing anything that fell into my hands also gave me great joy. What didn't kill me, framed reality differently. Daily Issues became less serious, less complicated. Facing the possibility being obliterated from existence does sort out one's priorities in life. We take so many things around us for granted. In fact, it is rather ridiculous how much people obsess over pointless matters. Life is an extremely fragile concept.


source: miriadna.com

Most people gain this form of wisdom only when they get older. Watching our bodies falling apart little by little, we start building up antifragility towards the concept of death. This is part of the reason the older we get, the less we care about most things.

Younger people feel untouchable because their bodies are much more robust. This is also the reason the younger we are the more active and enthusiastic we tend to be. Trauma scrapes away things that might once appealed to us. Our own body shuts off the reward system.

I am not even sure if this feeling is positive or negative. Definitely, not for everyone. I don't feel sad or happy, just a breeze of continual content. Indifference can really suck up the life from most things including feelings of joy or pain from loss. The feeling is similar to buying a new exciting video game with the cheat codes being downloaded in your mind.

Part of being alive is being able to change emotional states dramatically. Expressing feelings of sadness, joy, excitement spices up thing in life. Variation is key, heck some argue that it is the very definition of life. Indifference on the other hand, feels like eating your favorite food every day for 5 years straight. You just eat to stay alive. There is no pleasure to it.


I am writing this because some people that didn't go through some life threatening experiences might have the audacity to advice others to be stronger. Experience though beats sophistry any time of the day. It is better to be considerate and just ask for more extra information rather than trying to project popular quotes onto others. After all, indifference might even be considered to be a form of toughness.






Sort:  

A guy I once met said "What doesn't kill you makes you stranger"

I hate that guy. Wish I was able to kill him bit he is too much fun

Batman: [in the interrogation room] Then why do you want to kill me?

The Joker: [giggling] I don't, I don't want to kill you! What would I do without you? Go back to ripping off mob dealers? No, no, NO! No. You... you... complete me.

BEST...MOVIE...EVER!

Yes, my biography made a good movie. I still have to deal on a daily base with the effects of that specific interrogation. I almost broke my hand there. Very good re-enactment

Thou salt not take the lord's name in vain...

also very true

To me this doesn't happen, Thank God ! ! But family problems exist. On my last job there was a "burnout". I'm so tired, that I'm was like coil spring, that long, long twisted). And she time, and broke. Became indifferent to everything. I don't react to any thing, like a dummy. Gradually it became easier.

Everything will pass and this too shall pass (as was said by the ancient philosophers)

yeap, burnouts are very real

I'm about a year then was pulled myself on the light. It was hard. Tried to walk more (like You), play with the dog, squeeze my cats=)

that works wonders really

I agree with You)

While I haven't been through a near-death experience, the last 10 years have definitely rearranged my priorities. While I can't speak for my wife, I'm fairly certain she feels the same.

By all standards we should have been upper-middle class, I had 25+ years experience in a skilled career and my wife had graduated with honors from one of the top law schools in the country. And yet, on Christmas Eve of 2012 I turned the keys of our modest house over to the bank and we spent the next 16 months without a mailing address. I hesitate to use the term homeless because we never actually had to sleep in the car but we moved 9 times during that period, including a 2 month stay in a hotel room and several long weekends in a friend's RV.

I don't feel indifferent to what the vast majority of Muricans find "important", I feel more like the kid in the Emperor's New Clothes trying to point out that none of them are wearing any clothes.

Thank you for sharing this. It does indeed put things in perspective. Life can surely throw us curveballs that end up affecting us differently.

That happens a lot and it's very true. You have felt it with because of a huge thing, but in happens with the small things as well. That's why people tend to get more "cynical" with age. But in the end, I think that indifference actually leads to more objectiveness.

It does. I relate to everything you just said.

I'm glad to hear that.

Totally agree @kyriacos. I've been through life threatening situations and bad things have happened to me. I don't think it made me stronger, it probably just made me indifferent to those situations. If they happen again, I don't think Id feel anything, definitely not stronger.

Some called me weak, but I don't think I'm weak since I've lived through it all and I'm still here, giving out love and positivity even though I may have none left.

Cheers :) great post!!

Yeap, weak and strong are really peculiar words

When I was nineteen, I died...and remained dead for about two and a half minutes.

I have experienced life-threatening situations, spent time hiding in bomb shelters while air raid sirens blared outside and I have seen people die and get killed. And all I can say is that life doesn't weaken you, and neither does it strengthen you. It just provides the stressors and the challenges - it's totally up to you on how you react to those things.

Every saying I have ever heard is domain-specific, as in it requires detailed background and context to be understood and interpreted correctly. Life is too nuanced for it to be any different:)

I like this and I think it's true (the stoics would agree):
"indifference might even be considered to be a form of toughness"

Thank you for sharing this. I also adhere to much of the Stoic philosophy.

wow thanks for sharing your story!

You are welcome:) Reading what I wrote, it seems more dramatic written down than I remember it in my head:)

Indifference is a form a strength and toughness, and we perceive it as such. That scene in the Dirty Harry movie where Clint keeps on chewing on his hot dog while popping off 44 magnum rounds at a criminal immediately comes to mind.

Haha, Dirty Harry is the personification of toughness!

I do agree that the things which have a high strain on us emotionally and mentality make us more resilient towards other things that have a similarity.
It also can be dedined as making you stronger but in reality it has a dumbing effect on us.
Some find it good others fins it bad.
Cheers and best of wishes from me.
Goldie

I concur. Whoever came up with that stupid platitude obviously has never been abducted, held at gunpoint and a number of other things. You realize that the society you thought was, at least, a little bit orderly isn't at all orderly and that everything is far worse than it appears, far worse than most people know, and that leaves you with very little in common with everyone else. At least, that's how it went for me. Good article. It's nice to know that other people realize what a stupid thing that is to say.

I think most people have turned most concepts into a meme and when reality does kick their door down only then they realize the bullshit they have been saying.

I'm sorry to hear you had near death experiences... that would be so scary. I agree, sometimes telling people what doesn't kill you makes you stronger is not the best advice.

I was recently talking to a friend who use to be in the army... and he has the exact same symptoms as you. It's hard for him to feel motivated because he is so desensitized. Things that would normally freak him out no longer do that...

Everyone's healing and coping process is different. I think the best thing you can do for someone is to just be there for them.

It wasn't scary really. More like a mind numbing experience. it feels curious. weird.

ahh I can only imagine. Thanks for sharing your story.

It depends on someone's personality actually. When you are in severe pain be it emotionally or physically you are just ecstatic those days that you are not in pain. That's all it matters. For others it turns into resentment and jealousy because they see people enjoying their lives while they can't. Many people in pain become tougher and misanthropic, you can see this in many movies actually, Al Pacino in scent of a woman who was incredibly mean and bitter because he was blind. Remember also Tom Hanks in Forrest Gump. Leautenant Dan was extremely cruel with others because he lost his legs in the war. He kept that anger for years until he made peace with himself after meeting Forest Gamp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26