You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Mental Illness That Can Give You Superhuman Brain Powers (Featuring @steemist as Author)

in #health8 years ago (edited)

@jacor @steemist

They are not "diseases". Society has labeled them for conformist reasons. We are all unique individuals with our assets and drawbacks. We have a toolbox with all kinds of tools. Nobody can label something a "disease" for us. Is it a disease to be extra nice to people and been taken advantage? Is it a disease to be attentive or loyal?

Here is something I wrote about the issue

https://steemit.com/steemit/@kyriacos/missing-posting-authority-error-please-solve-it

Sort:  

I agree. My degree is psychology, and I learned very early on that most psychologists are mainly interested in making a name for themselves. To do this, they have to be able to point a finger at someone with any problem and give it a new name--label it as a psychosis or neurosis of some kind so that they will be taken seriously in the academic world.
People are complicated. That's all there is to it. People shouldn't all conform to one way of acting, of being. That's not reality.
And we shouldn't label anyone.
Thanks for the post!

I can at-least agree to call them disease but I believe they are harmful in few ways though, just like it is explained in my article. There is a difference of opinion between society whether to call them disease or just disorders.

I called them diseases because they are known as "diseases". All of those diseases have some serious side-effects and calling them "normal" is wrong for multiple reasons near me. Although I see your point too, but I'm agree to disagree because difference of opinions are possible.

Thank you for taking your precious time to comment. Much appreciated!

I understand your point @steemist

Ha, ha, ha! I guess you're right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63