Fad Diet Facts Vol.2 The Paleo DietsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

A Brief Intro

When on the topic of fad diets you’re likely to find that proponents of any one of the fad diets I’m planning on covering are likely to be convinced that the diet they follow is by far and away the best way to eat for everyone. They tend to view those of us not convinced of the purity and divine perfection of their diet as ignorant, uneducated or flat-out stupid.
There is no need for the average everyday person to follow some special diet. Obviously this excludes those with pre-existing conditions or food allergies. You’re likely to find that most of the fad diets I’m covering will work when done correctly, but also tend to be needlessly restrictive. If these diets will work for you and are something you will enjoy then that’s great! My goal is to show you what they are, what they aren’t and that they will work, but aren’t the best or only way to be healthy

8-Paleo-Swaps-for-Weight-Loss-01-722x406.jpg
Image Source

The Paleo Diet

The Paleo Diet is essentially trying to come close to replicating what are distant ancestors ate. This means a diet high in not only meats and fish, but also plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. The idea that a lot of people throw around is that our ancestors were very healthy so we should try and replicate them. This diet is heavily based on meat,vegetables, nuts, and eggs. The The Paleo diet recommends cutting out processed carbohydrates and cooking oils.

Alright this is sounding alright we’re off to a good start

Now this is where Paleo loses it’s appeal for me. Paleo recommends cutting out legumes (like peanuts) Dairy, and Grains as well as Potatoes. Now you could definitely get by without eating these foods it just doesn’t make any real sense to cut out these things. It would be very difficult to consume enough carbs through exclusively veggies and fruit to function with high energy throughout the day. This would likely result in weight loss from eating fewer calories, but at a cost I personally am not willing to pay.

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 13.50.41.png

Misconceptions

I will be eating mostly meat in my diet

  • A true paleo diet contains a lot of fruit and veggies on top of meat which is definitely a positive for this diet.

The caveman were healthier than us from eating this diet

  • For the most part this is just nonsense to make this diet sound better

Cutting out carbs is the reason this diet works

  • In reality carbs are just fine and even beneficial for your health and well-being. This is one reason I would never use this diet. Needless restriction of carbs is my least favorite diet characteristic.

This diet is high in saturated fat which is bad for me

  • Saturated fat has been shown to increase risk for heart disease when chronically excessively over consumed. Most people won’t eat the amount necessary for this to apply so they don’t really need to worry about this.

Summary

A Paleo diet can work and be beneficial for plenty of people, but like I’ve said before it is absolutely not the best or only way to improve your health. It’s far from perfect and can be needlessly restrictive. The Paleo Diet would be good for those who don’t mind consuming a low-carb meat and veggie rich diet.

I know it’s not the best diet for me, but is it the best diet for you?
Let me know down below in the comments

Research/Further Reading
http://rustikmagazine.com/diet-trends/#.WWes29MrJsM
http://thepaleodiet.com/what-to-eat-on-the-paleo-diet-paul-vandyken/

Sort:  

Great post ! Thanks for all the awesome info ! You became my 1500th follower today and I would love to give you 100% upvote and resteemed !! Even though like a lot of us my power needs to be regained to 100% as were only allowed 10 up votes per day ! Also my Steem Power is low as I had to power down for 13 weeks after being laid off , but that's done now and im back to powering up at 100% ! Best of luck to you and welcome to steemit ! im also following you now thanks for following me ! Steem on my new friend !!👍👍👍💙✌

Thank you! Glad to see you're back in action after a setback like that. looking forward to keeping up with your content:)

yes , I never stopped steeming on !! Haha im too addicted ! Thanks! 👍👍👍

Good information and analysis... for me, a lot of all this "diet stuff" ends up back at what my grandparents' seemed to do "everything in moderation." Seems to me that-- whether it was our paleo ancestors, or modern times-- the secret to health is not overindulging too much in any one thing...

There is a lot of wisdom in that. You can eat a diet consisting of whatever the hell you want as long as it's got some fruits and veggies and isn't putting you in a caloric surplus.

Thank for the pros and cons of the paleo diet. Eating in moderation is the best "diet" that can be done. Add it with exercise and you are set :)

Very True, A healthy diet as simple as I could put it would be to eat mostly whole foods with lots of nutrients with a few indulgences in moderation.

Yes gotta have some indulgences! :)

I've been looking at Paleo recipes lately, but haven't made anything yet. I don't tend to do well on "diets" - echoing @merej99, as soon as I think about a diet, I feel restricted . . . which usually ends up with me feeling like I want to cheat! I like @denmarkguy's "everything in moderation", but think I need to eat more fruits and veggies than what I'm getting (probably like a lot of people!).

If restriction isn't your thing I suggest basing your food around a calorie range that you aim for each day. Everything in moderation is certainly a key principle in a healthy diet.

Thats a good strategy, thank you!

Thanks for this presentation about Paleo...

I've had some "Paleo" meals when visiting friends, and have heard good things about it generally... But it is always good to hear "both sides," and you've presented an excellent counterpoint.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you! This means I accomplished my goal with this article which I love to hear

Great Info. I start the Paleo Diet in 12 days...
After I get back from vacation of course :)
Going to focus Heavy on vegetables and Nuts and do Min on meats...

Not a bad way to do it

Nice outline of the Paleo diet. I find it funny that 4 of the 8 foods on the do not eat list... Shoudn't be eaten in excess in any diet haha

Sugars, refined oils, soft drink, salt

Exactly haha, so in reality, the only new additions are no peanut butter, no dairy, no potatoes, and no grains and I truly don't see any real reason for this.

Either do I haha.

Also a big arguement Paleo enthusiasts use is that we are not evolved to drink milk and have grains but science has shown we actually are... Really though I'd rather someone be on a paleo diet then a western high sugar and fat diet.

Assuming that they strictly followed Paleo, and the western diet involved lots of overconsumption I would tend to agree with you.

I work as a personal trainer and refer my clients to a trusted dietitian. We both agree that only 20% of people have any idea what a balanced diet is, and how much to consume. Your post does help enlighten them though keep it up :)

Thanks! That may even be an overestimation though haha

This diet works well for a few friends and family members of mine. However, like you I'm not convinced cutting out carbs is the best thing. After all we have evolved somewhat since Paleolithic times. Great article. Thanks for sharing 😊

Yes, we certainly have haha, Thanks for reading!

These are really good examples of the good and "bad" of the paleo diet. Honestly, I saw "diet" and was ughhh... I HATE diets! LOL
I think you're right about a lot of diets being too restrictive, but if you think about it, they probably have to be in order to stand out and be different! I mean... It's marketing, isn't it?

In any event, I try to listen to my body and its needs. I've cut out a lot of red meat but do indulge in a burger once in a while. I've cut out a lot of white bread and opt for wraps or whole grain. I do get a bagel once in a while :) I've had days when I said, "If I don't have a tomato right now I'm going to shrivel up and die." (true story! LOL) Translated: Body needs fluid and vitamin C. HA!
So, I guess I eat what I want and try to only eat when I'm hungry, not letting the clock guide my eating habits. :)

Oh, I 100% agree about the purpose of restriction being for marketing. I'm becoming increasingly convinced that almost everything the common person believes about nutrition is learned from marketing. Companies are telling people what to believe in order to sell them things.
Listening to your body is a pretty good way to regulate yourself for sure, people need to indulge every so often to stop from hating their lives. I can't say I've ever actually wanted to eat a tomato though hahaha

It's been a reallllly long time since I've had a juicy, delicious, sweet tomato. It's almost as good as eating an apple but I have yet to find a tasty one these days! One of these years I will have to start my garden and perhaps make my own hybrid.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KyleK717 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks minnowsupport

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74