6 Reasons why you're not losing weightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Why the hell did I gain weight? I did everything right!!!

It is very easy while trying to lose weight, to step on a scale and see a disappointing number even though you did everything right. If this has happened to you, you can remember the strong sense of disappointment and maybe even anger as you just didn’t understand why this was happening to you. Today I’m hoping to explain a few reasons why this can happen, and why one or two bad weigh ins shouldn’t even phase you. Hopefully I might even convince a few people that the number on the scale isn’t always the most important thing to be worried about.

stop-weighing-yourself.jpg
Image Source

I came across this awesome picture on Instagram today and it inspired me to write a little bit about this topic so shout out to Syattfitness for posting the image that inspired me. It is an extremely well done and informative Instagram page and website and I would strongly recommend checking out his stuff.

Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 15.34.39.png
Image Source

Key Point before we get started (Weight vs. Fat)

A lot of times I hear people confuse the terms fat and weight. I can gain 10 pounds in a day by drinking and eating a ridiculous amount, but I will have gained no fat by the end of the day. It is important when weighing yourself to be more concerned about fat than weight. More times than not weird fluctuations are a result of a change in weight and not a change in fat. These are the cases you don’t need to worry about. I’m not trying to say the scale is not important at all, but if your weight is trending down over the week or the month, that is much more important than day to day fluctuations.

Reasons your weight can fluctuate so much

Eating later than usual

  • This can mean that there will be more food in your stomach the next morning when you weigh in. Nothing to do with fat or body composition, you just literally have more food in your body than normal.

Weighing yourself earlier

  • This could mean that similar to the last reason, you have more food content in your stomach. This increases your weight, but has nothing to do with your fat levels or body composition.

You lifted weights yesterday

  • Lifting causes tears in the muscle that need to be repaired by the body. When repairing these tiny tears the body tends to retain more water and nutrients in the affected muscles in order to help them recover. This obviously can cause a fluctuation in weight.

You ate a lot of carbs or salty food yesterday

  • Consuming lots of carbs and salt can also cause your body to retain more water than usual. This can increase your weigh-ins

You’re stressed out

  • When you're stressed out your body tends to want to hold onto more water weight which can make you bloated and heavier. One reason why women often gain weight (not fat) on their period.

You need to take a dump

  • I feel like this is pretty self-explanatory as to why you’d be heavier. This can honestly be pretty common though. It happens to me a couple times a month.

A few tips on how to weigh yourself

  • Be consistent with your timing, preferably when you wake up so your stomach is the most empty. When you are consistent with what time you weigh yourself it is easier to see a clearer picture of your weight/fat loss.
  • Take an average of your weight for the week to prevent obsession over daily weigh ins. If your week averages are going down, that’s all that matters.
  • Weigh yourself as often as you can to get the most accurate average for the week possible

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think in the comments

33931c7a376d170f_c0279d34b42a11e39a0712ca28d4fc88_8.jpg

Sort:  

I've lifted weights for years and didn't realize that about weight lifting. Thanks for the new insight!

Anytime! Glad you learned something

awww... to prevent disappointment, I do not weigh anymore. I am down to the last 2kgs to get to my pre-pregnancy weight. Not that I am doing something to lose, but it came about naturally during the first few months after delivery. You know pressure, breastfeeding and all those stuff. Now 19 months later, those last 2kgs are clinging like vine. Like I still care. never mind. haha

If you dont weigh yourself any more how do you know you have 2kgs to go? Im just curious

Earlier when we go for kids wellness check there were times when my youngest woundn't sit up on the scale. So we use the big scale. Me+ baby, then me only to get his weight. Last was maybe 3 months ago. Those 2kgs would always be there. Now since I do not work out nor engage on a strict diet then I know it's still there.

I don't even own a scale!
I was getting obsessive about a rogue pound or two and had to stop. So I use my clothes as a measuring tool. Too tight? Put down the bag of chips. The one thing that I'm terrible with is exercising daily. So I might be maintaining my weight but I might actually be losing some and feeling better if I moved more! Ah well... I'm a work in progress.

Definitley nothing wrong with being a work in progress! We all are in our own way

I heard that women's weight will fluxuate depending on where they are in their cycle, something about retaining more water during part of it or something. Obviously I don't know as I'm a guy, but this might help the ladies.

This can definitely be true for some women, certain hormones promote water retention causing bloating of both your body and your weight. (but not fat)

good post
plise followback..

Sorry, but I don't follow people who comment asking me to follow them

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KyleK717 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks MinnowSupport

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34