Dopamine; Its Wondrous Effect On The 21st Century Kid.

in #health6 years ago
Many have fallen victims to this era’s addictive technologies such as iPhone, hoverboards, Quadcopters, and so many other interesting gadgets. It is no wonder why laziness is on the rise. With the growth of more robot usage in factories, people will soon have no jobs and too much time on their hands. Before I gear of topic, let me chip in this short real story that happened last week.

So, my Auntie was in town for funeral and she decided to stay a week since she was also on leave from her Job. After supper one evening, I came into my room, switched on my laptop and decided to do some research on how to improve my photography skills. She knocked and entered the room an hour later to see me glued to the screen watching tutorials on YouTube. It pissed her off and here is why. She is old school and believes my generation are losing sight of what’s relevant. She told me to stop wasting time on the internet and start paying full attention to my course of study at the university. To be frank with you all, I hate my course mainly because of how it is taught to us but I didn’t say it to her. In fact I didn’t say a word as she started to rattle on and on about how addictive these advancements can be. To a degree, I believed what she said.


This brings me to my main issue of the blog which is Dopamine. It is said to be an organic compound that plays several important roles in the body and brain. It is said that addictive drugs increase the dopamine neuronal activity. Bare in mind that everyone in one way or the other is addicted to something and in a way, increasing their dopamine neuronal activities. It could be anything either healthy or unhealthy. It could be your work or drugs either way everyone is hooked onto something. In my Auntie’s argument, she stated unknowingly I should be addicted to my school work more than my internet related work. Either way, the addiction still persists.

What Happens When Dopamine Activities Increases.

It is said that one becomes less content with whatever amount they take in. Say, it’s an abusive drug and you used to take a handful every day. Over time, as the dopamine activities increases, one becomes less interested in the regular amounts because the brain adapts to the the level of excitement. Thus, to have that ticking effect again, one must increase the dosage.

Let’s make time tomorrow to explore the rest of this fascinating content. To be Continued….

Ps

I’m no health expect and the above information this blog provides is totally based on my understanding from google and Wikipedia exploration. Criticisms are therefore welcome only if necessary.

Image Source1,2

Sort:  

Our brains carry all sorts of information .It is good you posted this

Our brain rewards us for some activities we so and it does this by releasing dopamine into the reward centers in our brain. Addiction comes in when more and more dopamine has to be released to give a reward. The pleasure you feel after an action is as a result of dopamine release.

This is not a detailed info but should be enough for a basic understanding.

The second part of this blog contains much more. Pass by today for it.

I'd be expecting it

So would I. I need more information on this topic

totally logical and probably correct!

How could you have read this in less than 4 minutes?

i study law, I have to read. Seriously though I did read it, and I took it in. My previous degree was psychology. ;) Wasn’t a throw away comment :)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

You got a 1.58% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @kwakumax!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

now i know my dear , thanks so much for aharing ua this very informative post❤️❤️❤️

it's a matter of time when robots rules the world if this runs like this.
you did describe well here.
thanks man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51