Clay: A Powerful & Versatile Healer

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Clay is a very powerful and effective healer with multiple applications, both internal and external. Inexpensive and widely available, it has a long tradition of medicinal uses in many cultures.

IMG_1831.JPG

Your health food store or natural market most likely stocks bentonite, Montmorillon or Moroccan red clay. All possess beneficial properties, so it's wise to sample different types and brands. This can be a very subjective choice, and I would encourage you to pay attention to your subtle biases. These can be cues to what is right for you. If you are going to ingest the clay, please choose food grade.

Sodium vs. Calcium Bentonite

Bentonite is plentiful in the United States and is often the least expensive. Calcium bentonite is preferred for internal use as it absorbs less water than sodium bentonite and therefore can be used with less restrictions. Both perform well externally.

Montmorillon

Also called French green clay, Montmorillon is suitable for the same wide uses as Calcium Bentonite. I really like this clay though I can't put my finger on why other than it really helped me during a tough time.

Moroccan Red Clay

I am seeing this in stores more and more but have no experience with it. I've seen it referenced for skin and hair care, and I suspect that its mineral composition might make it ideal for cosmetic use.

Dry or Hydrated

I always keep a bottle of hydrated clay in my cupboard. If you're going to use clay internally, this is the easiest way to do it. The clay is premixed and suspended evenly in liquid. This type is handy for rubbing on insect bites, rashes and small swellings, but when a clay pack or mask is required, I like to start with dry clay and add the water myself.

Clay Mask

These masks are just thin layers of clay that draw impurities and toxins into the clay. They also increase blood flow to the area of application. The clay is left to dry and then washed off.

IMG_1829.JPG

Most of us are familiar with their use on the face as a beauty treatment. They're great for acne prone skin, but surprisingly have great benefits for aging complexions. Other areas of the body can benefit as well. Recently a naturopathic student who was taking a clay mini-course mentioned the powerful effects of these masks on thighs. She told me that a woman applied the clay daily to one thigh for a month to demonstrate clay's magical properties. The student described the difference as "one 20 year old thigh and one 40 year old one".

After reading about the importance of never using metal to store or mix clay due to its negative charge, I really began to understand how it can break up patterns of energy in the body's bioelectric field. There are reports that clay packs can heal scarring. From my own experience, I can attest that they help prevent it when applied to wounds.

Clay Packs

These packs require a mixture of more substantial consistency. This thickness increases the clay's drawing action though these poultices can still be soothing to areas of inflammation.

A little clay goes a long way, so start off with a small scoop and add water a little at a time until it is the desired thickness. Remember to use a glass, ceramic or wooden utensil and vessel. Metal will disrupt the charge of the clay that is so integral to its medicinal applications.

IMG_1830.JPG

Now, you will need a piece of cotton cut to the preferred size. Old t shirts work fine. Spread the hydrated clay on the cloth and place the clay side on the skin. Use plastic wrap as the outermost layer. The idea is to keep the moisture in the clay as the mixture should never be allowed to dry on damaged tissue like open wounds or inflamed skin. The recommended application time is 20 to 30 minutes though I have worn my pack all day every day with only good effects.

IMG_1833.JPG

These packs have been used successfully on bruises, eczema, edema and abscesses. This is only a small slice of conditions that can benefit from external use. Interestingly, a titanium seed was left deep in my breast during a biopsy. Within two days of clay packs, the seed emerged as a diffused pattern in the clay.

More Uses Than I Know

Clay is versatile, and it has vast uses both internally and externally. I encourage you to buy some and begin using it. Maybe first, you'll spread it on a rash or bug bite. After a bit, you might begin to use it on infected cuts. As you become familiar with it, you'll find more uses. I have used it on wounds and abscesses with no fear as I know the clay draws and binds pathogens and bacteria. Use will build more trust and knowledge. Start only with what is comfortable for you.

Internal Use

I have ingested clay in small amounts to aid with detoxification while fasting. I add a few tablespoons to juice with about the same amount of psyllium husk powder. I shake it up and drink really quickly before it turns gelatinous and impossible to get down.

Occasionally, I might take a straight tablespoon or two for digestive upsets, but there are some that take a little clay every day and proclaim great health benefits. I'm still undecided as to whether consistent consumption suits me. If you do decide to try internal use, it is a good idea to take clay as far away from medicine and supplements as the clay may nullify their effectiveness.

I hope this has piqued your interest into what clay may offer you. This isn't medical advice, but more of an invitation to start using clay and learning how it can help you and those close to you.

Sort:  

Clay really is amazing, Please follow, upvote and comment on my post also, thanks
Thumb02.jpg

nice and knowledgeable post. keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46