# Problem with Health Care System in US—Solved

in #health8 years ago

I’m a woman almost 68 years old, and I have not seeked medical care for over 35 years. If half the people in the US were half like me, health care expenses would be cut by one-fourth. That’s 1 trillion dollars. For full disclosure I had to get a physical to get a factory job about 20 years ago. And I got my vitals taken for two life insurance policies, one personal and one for key-person corporate insurance. I soon after left that small company, because I didn’t like being worth half a million dollars dead. Hence the factory job. I also got a tooth pulled during this time. That was before i learned how to handle toothaches.

Actually I never planned on avoidiing so-called health care and have been covered by health insurance for most of the 35 years. I’ve just always had a natural aversion to waiting in doctors’ offices. Staying home and getting more rest is almost always best for getting over any illness. I’m sure if I went in for a physical, they would find something wrong with me. I don’t know what my blood pressure is. I don’t know what my choleterol level is. I don’t know what my blood sugar level is. I’ve always been a little overweight, still workiing on that. I know what to do, but when your favorite food is fresh baked bread with lots of butter, it’s hard. In any case, I am definitely avoiding the third highest cause of death in the US—medical errors.

People need to learn to trust themselves. Waking up after a good night’s sleep and feeling good, you know you’re fine. If you don’t feel so great, experiment a little. You know what to do Eat better, take extra vitamins, get some exercise, do something you enjoy. There’s all kinds of information on the Internet. Of course, it will not all work for you, but most of the drugs a doctor will prescribe won’t work either. Take responsibility for yourself, and allow the health care industry to focus on the few people who really need medical intervention.

Sort:  

i agree with you completely. however, most people would rather have someone else take care of it. now, since they are forced to have insurance, why bother? let the doctors take care of it. only when it costs them dearly, personally, will they be motivated to do it themselves. this is true of most people i know. they think i'm crazy to take care of myself. i don't know how to speak to them.

Yes, most people think I'm crazy if I tell them I haven't gone to a doctor for 35 years.

Congratulations @khizar! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @khizar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71