You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BATTLING WITH HEALTH

in #health6 years ago

Thank you for sharing your health story:) Eight years ago, I too suffered a TIA. I was 46. The doctors were surprised, as I was a healthy-living, non-smoker. Fortunately, there was no detectable damage. I noticed a few things - I'm slower to pick up new things and forget lots of simple words. I have difficulty remembering names, although I always remember a face. Hope your health continues to improve. You're lucky you had a good job to return to :))

Sort:  

Hi Katy, many thanks for this. I am luckier than you, I had this at the age of 76. No ill effects but a slight heaviness in my legs. It hasn't stopped me walking and I can still run for a bus when I have to. A couple of months after that I had a nasty virus with very high temperatures. I went to A&E and was told to go home, rest, drink lots of water, take Paracetemol and Oh, if your temperature reaches 39C then come in as it may be Sepsis. My poor husband (for whom I am carer) was worried yet stoic, my daughter who rushed over and did all the hospital visits, was simply marvellous.
Charming. I went home had a very bad few days of high temperatures, never reaching 39C when I collapsed at home. The collapse was a matter of seconds but it left me in a pile on the carpet. After 7 days treatment in the hospital I recovered enough to be home. I knew I had Sepsis, although the word was never mentioned. I thought I'd better do as I'm told to get out of here! I cannot fault my excellent treatment in hospital, they filled me with antibiotics and I had blood tests every few hours throughout and the kindest care. Then after a couple of weeks I was in my new job project managing GDPR. I love it and it should end in October. I was successful and we came in with one day to spare. So I awaited confirmation of what I had (on the discharge paper it said Sepsis) and now have Primary Biliary Cirrhosis (PBS or PBC) they have no idea how you get it and it but it means it's an autoimmune disease affecting the bile ducts and liver. I am not ,or never was a drinker. Anyway I'm getting to the stage where I am taking more pills than my husband! So I decided change of lifestyle meaning low fat low sodium diet. The good think is I feel really well and am determined to stay that way! Stay well dear Katy. Life is too short anyway. jv

You did well to undertake the job you mention :) Good luck with your health and initiatives to maintain it. Life is too short, indeed. I should have guessed your age from your literary interests. Your knowledge was too wide to be a product of a post-millennial education :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43