Bug Chasing.

in #health6 years ago

Okay, the first time I accidently stumbled upon this term I thought I did not read the meaning correctly. I had to read it again.
Slowly.
This is the most ridiculous thing I've heard about in my entire existence.

Now HIV/AIDS is one of the most dreaded diseases in Africa and the world over. Especially among young people. That is why we even make the effort to use a condom or even abstain entirely.

Bug Chasing however, is the practice of pursuing sexual activity with HIV positive individuals in other to contract HIV.
Yep. You read correctly.images.jpg
photo credit: google.

It is very deliberate.
People who do this are called bug chasers. Now this is a form of self-harm.
Gift givers are the HIV positive individuals who donate the virus. It is however very common among gay people.

Inasmuch as it is a matter of choice and personal decision without any form of coersion, I still question the sanity of these young people.
Yes they are mostly young people.

I read it was very popular in 2003 but not as much now. I dont think its still in vogue. There are some youtube videos about it.
Why did they do this?
Why do they do this?
Why do they crave this virus?
To feel among?
Among what exactly?
I am riddled with so many questions right now.
If you know much about it please enlighten me further in the comment section.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67