You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 90% Of The Tobacco Market Is Genetically Modified

in #health8 years ago (edited)

It wasn't, a tomato was.

Edit: Nope I'm wrong. Tobacco was indeed first. An antibiotic resistance gene was added to a tobacco plant as a proof of concept, this didn't serve any relevant purpose other than to show it could be done, and because the tobacco plant is easy to manipulate. Guess I need to brush up on my science history a bit more! Always learning.

Sort:  

Thanks for the additional info. The question that interests me most is what was the first commercial gmo.

Read my blog post on it, I talk about it some.

One thing you can count on from our posts is that they will be VERY accurate and cutting edge.
Grateful to prove you wrong and grateful you acknowledged it on your own!
A sign of an honorable being!
Blessings~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41