You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did you know, GMOs are linked to gluten sensitivity, leaky gut, poor digestion, gut dysbiosis and allergies??

in #health7 years ago

I have written several posts on the subject in the past. While I don't agree with all implementations of the technology (ie inclusion of pesticide resistance) there is no evidence that any current GMO being developed, or any GMO product has a negative effect on human health. They do potentially have unforseen effects on wildlife populations (in the case of the pesticide resistance) as they lead to more pesticide usage, changing insect populations in a given area and potentially disrupting the food chain in some capacity.

Your claims in this post indicate a specific health response to 'GMOs' which first off isn't possible because no GMO food is equivalent to another, they are all modified for different purposes (knockdowns of an enzyme to slow ripening, addition of vitamin A precursor beta-carotine with golden rice). Many of these things have no possible negative effect (which is supported by the literature). But even if they did (let's go hypothetical) they would each effect us in a different way, because the modification made to them was entirely different.

Sort:  

I just read your posts on GMOs and vaccine potential, which I really enjoyed reading. You're really good at taking technical information and putting it into an easy to digest format. (I will definitely have to follow your posts).

Although I'm not a PhD biochemist, I have been learning about GMOs since I was in high school. Ever since then, I've been fascinated by biotech and its possibilities. There are so many cool things that can be done with GMOs but I personally don't like the evidence I've found so far. The studies and information I'm most familiar with focus on some of the main food or animal feed crops, like soy, corn, canola, etc which are almost entirely GMO now.

I never thought of the possibility someone may interpret this article in the way you're describing...It's great to see your point of view. I wasn't necessarily trying to say all GMOs are bad, or proven to be bad, just discuss some of the issues around them.

Thank you for the nice and thoughtful response.

I wasn't necessarily trying to say all GMOs are bad, or proven to be bad, just discuss some of the issues around them.

There are some issues to be discussed (none that are a deal breaker IMO), however importantly there is no known negative human health relationship with GMO's. They are a touchy subject, because people are very easily scared of things they do not understand. So them reading positive things only sways their opinion a little in the positive direction. However because of the inherent fear of the unknown, reading negative things drastically seems to worsen peoples overall opinion.

I have felt for quite a long time, that the only way to circumvent this inherent fear of the unknown phenomenon surrounding recombination DNA technologies is to educate people in the simplest and easiest to digest ways. A little bit of understanding goes a long way to putting the pros and cons of the technology into perspective.

Just my two cents, and a bit more as to where I am coming from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64