Music for Meditation

in #health7 years ago

My best meditations have been in silence, but sometimes my mind is too restless to be able to settle into so much nothingness. In those cases I've found listening to some relaxing music helps. There are types of sounds and music meant specifically for meditation, but my favorite of all has been this album that I'd like to share. It's called "Ocean Songs," created by The Dirty Three, a band from Australia. I especially enjoy the guitarist, who has played on another of my favorite albums, "Moon Pix" from Cat Power. It's instrumental, so throw this on and roll along with the tide-like movements of their sounds.

Sort:  

This is one of my favorite albums, as well. I've had it on repeat a time or a few. I sense so much conflicted emotion in this album; I'm not sure I could properly give it words, but I feel it every time I listen. It's soothing and it hurts.

I do think the sounds fit the title theme so well.

Love the Dirty Three. They have such a unique jangly, gypsy, folksy sound. Great violinists, cellists, I'm thankful for all the ones I've been lucky enough to find.

Do you know of Zoe Keating, Andrew Byrd, A Silver Mt. Zion? If not, might want to check them out.

That was definite not what I expected! Not your average meditation sounds. I could see allowing my mind to get lost in this :)

Sounds cool I will check it out!

Ah two of my faves. I have seen Dirty Three play a few times over years, once as support for Nick Cave. Oh and seen Cat Power too.. Moon Pix is one of my all time faves 💚

Wow, I would have liked to have been there for either, both are in my top 10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40