Why do mosquitos bite us?

in #health7 years ago

Scientists now understand how aroma, sight and heat affect the bite of human by insects. Have you ever wondered why we pull mosquitos like magnets?

According to a new study published in Current Biology, mosquitoes are drawn by the aroma of CO2 (carbon dioxide) that is in human breathing. Insects capture this fragrance from a distance of 10-50 meters.

By approaching them they create a visual view of their "host", and this is tested by researchers in a black spot on a wind tunnel. They see the human body from 5 to 15 meters.

Lastly, mosquitoes are drawn from the heat of the human body, which researchers have confirmed with a hot glass panel. The insects approach the heat within a meter.

While scientists discover that these elements affect mosquito bites, they have for the first time understood the relationship between these three phases.

image

Sort:  

yuk I hate the photo but very intresting post, Thanks for sharing it.

They loved me in Thailand and Egypt too, nasty little beings, I find lemon eucalyptus, lavender and a few other little goodies, I make myself anti bug remedy in a spray bottle, suspended in vodka as a spray, or coco butter and beeswax as a cream works as good as any deet :D

Ahaha glad it does. My brother is like a big magnet of them, me in the other hand dont attract much of them 1 in 3 day, while he gets the horde LOL

Lucky you! we need to harness what is is that you have hahaa maybe then we can all have some peace once the sun starts to go down. :)

Sour blood LOL whats that saying sweet blood guys get the mosquitos while the sour ones get nothing

I seeeee interesting, is that a think? can you have sour blood do you think...I suppose you can as we're all different and diet etc might have something to do with it, like I expect if you drink a lot of sweet drinks and sit out in the sun you'll give off a different gas (not that type lol) well I'll just whack on the all natural deterrent I make then :)

Im more of a spicy guy. Spicy things are my favorites

I ate the hottest noddle soup in Thailand - still got bitten, I don't like sweet things really I have a savory palette, maybe next holiday I will eat more chilli and curry then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46