You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turmeric- The best supplement you can take?

in #health7 years ago

You have to take turmeric with piperine (in black pepper) and fat to absorb it. I ingest about a teaspoon a day on average, usually on a salad with fats (olives, avacado, salmon) and plenty of black pepper.

I've also suffered a torn ACL and 2 meniscus tears, with reconstruction and two more surgeries related to scar tissue. Both my knee doctor and family med doctor recommended I take 800 mg of ibuprofen on the days at the gym when I work legs (squats, presses) which I did for awhile. But over a year ago, I converted to just a turmeric pre-workout drink, with pepper and coconut oil and have had better results after my workout.

You may want to look up "golden paste" on the internet to see recommendations for the ratio of turmeric to black pepper and coconut oil. In fact on another un-named social media site, there are two user groups for turmeric fanatics like me. One is geared to using for humans, and the other for using on animals, mainly horses and dogs, who suffer with joint issues as they age. There are alot of success stories there, as well as ways to flavor it more to their animal's liking.

Sort:  

Thanks for the info jim. I have noticed that they add the black pepper to "some", but not all of the supplements. I cook with coconut oil so it gets into my diet there. I currently take tumeric and glutamine post workout and seems to help with the soreness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34