Painful experience when" Talimbabaga or Centipede " bit my arm

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Talimbabaga is an Hiligaynon term or Centipede in English. Based on my own understanding the root word talim means sharp and baga in hiligaynun is like burning charcoal.

The centipede is a carnivorous insect with multiple legs and it has venomous claws that can paralyze its prey. I'm not sure what is the largest growing size, but I already seen one that ranges 4-5 inches in length. You can find this predator in the wild, soft soil, wet surface and dark areas.

Level of Pain

Early this morning while I am sitting at the waiting shed wearing my jacket. I notice that something is moving inside my sleeves and I rapidly remove it. Then all of a sudden something bite my arm like I was pinch with intermediate force.
When I totally removed my jacket I saw a small centipede running on the ground with one inch length and 2.5 mm in with. Because of my defense mechanism instinct I smash the it on the ground using a piece of stick.

After 5 minutes I felt unbearable pain that something is burning my skin on my arm. I rush going back to my friends house to put some ointment on it to alleviate the pain.

While before I applied the ointment on my skin I wash my arm and put some ice cube on the infected area. Then I search on the web to make sure that centipede wont cause any trouble on my arm. Because we are 3 hours away from the main city and it was stated that small centipede can cause unbearable pain to its victim. However it lessen the worries I felt because of this unexpected happening.

IMG_20180917_120341.jpg

I wasn't able to take photo on the centipede because I smashed it already. So I just copied and pasted this free image from pixabay.com


image source : https://pixabay.com/en/centipedes-creeping-insect-members-975247/

I have an ointment that always store inside my bag " The White Flower " it is my therapeutic medicine and my remedy to cure dizziness, head ache, insect bites, clog nose and muscle strains.

I have this brand since I was young when my mother bought this for us. It is a Chinese medication available in drugstores and some retail stores.

Take note : This is for external use only

IMG_20180917_120841[1].jpg

Ingredients/contents/formulation

Methyl Salicylate

/-Menthol

Eucalyptus Oil

Lavender Oil

Racemic Camphor

IMG_20180917_114805[1].jpg

Personal advise

Centipede bites can be tolerated by some people like adults, but not sure with toddlers. Then the penetration depends on the size of the centipede for sure. If serious complications happens, go to the nearest hospital for proper medication. It just so happen that the distance of health care provider is too far from our place. That's why I used to self medicate that at somehow helps me to relief the pain cause by centipede bite.

Just leave your comments, upvote , and resteem
Thank you for visiting!!

Sort:  

its very painful,
take care of yourself.

thanks for the concern..

Dude mukhang masakit yan. How did it manage to get inside your jacket?

Nka upo kasi ako sa isang waiting she'd habang nka patong yung buong kamay ko.. Baka pumasok or what.. Masakit pala siya na para nasusunog sa loob.. Ok na nman siya buti nlng meron akong dalang ointment.. Tsaka buti nlng maliit lng yung kumagat sakin

Posted using Partiko Android

Mahihimatay talaga ako sa takot pag nakakakita ng centipede. Buti naman you managed to get rid of it kahit na nakagat ka na.

Wala naman sigurong grabeng side effects yung kagat ng centipede no

Masakit po ang kagat niya.. Almost 1 hour bago nawala.. Uminom ksi ako ng analgesic... Tsaka maliit lng yun... Kung malaki cguro ewan ko nlng.. Namatay na nga dati kambing nmin nung makagat ng malaking centipede

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85