You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Milk Good For Kids?

in #health7 years ago

I just wanna point out that if you cn feed your kid unpasteurized, unhomogenized, RAW milk, these effects are negated. Even when the cows aren't grass fed though Grass fed milk is MUCH better due to vitamin K2-mk4.

Otherwise, yeah, the calcium and vitamin D in store milk actually leeches calcium from your bones in order to process it.

I'll admit I ignored all the vegan stuff. I don't ascribe to that ideology. Life is better with Bacon.

Sort:  

What do you mean they're negated?
The argument was on three points, #1 that it is not good for your bones, #2 that it makes puberty earlier due to the hormones in the milk, #3 that it's really not anything great macro-nutrient wise and the protein is not something to be concerned about.

I'd agree it's better, at least if it's your own cow or a friends cow, and that cow only has a small portion of it's milk siphoned/stolen, then it's not as bad, if it's over-exploited though I'd say it could be even worse pasturization kills bacteria, and the life in the milk, which when a cow is over-exploited they become infectious, and thus that's why pasteurization became popular. It's bad, but it's better than drinking milk with active pus/infection in it.

But you can't simply take away the estrogen in milk by making it raw and grass-fed.
It's an animal and it has hormones just like we do, especially after it is pregnant or during the process, and those hormones go into the milk for many reasons, and no amount of bringing them back to nature will take that away.
So why even bother, especially when it's so expensive and hard to find?


As I said, I couldn't care less if you consume honey although I don't, or if the kids do. The bees are fucked and because of how honey stores not buying it, even en-mass, will not really change the amount of bees having their honey taken and replaced with garbage high-fructose gmo corn syrup.
But I promise you your tune will change in a good fifty years when you're an elder. I've seen the devastation it has done to my grandmother and such an existence is truly something nobody deserves. But hey, it's your choice in this society to eat animals that equate to toddlers, and if that's okay with you I hope you are ready for the damage it brings, which we both know it does.
Besides, even disregarding long-term side effects, or ethics, or even the environment, I would probably want to kill myself off how sluggish and fatty it'd be to have bacon since I'm used to clean juicy fruits and melons in the morning.
But hey, if it doesn't make you feel that way, okay, but I'd just say you may only feel okay because you're used to feeling like shit after a meal. Maybe not, but that's how most people I know sadly live their lives. I don't.

Those clean, juicy fruits and melons you've been eating equate to how much sugar exactly?

"I certainly would prefer them to stay kids for as long as possible."
Well, you're certainly getting your wish here (In America). The number of twenty to thirty year olds that act like adults instead of spoiled children is shrinking drastically. I don't think it's the milk consumption that's on the rise.

This study that you linked relies on self reported data. Which is unavoidable with the study design they went with. To top it off their control group was a statistical model. There are numerous problems with using an ideal model as a control.

As for the protein, I would like to point out that vegetable protein sources do supply enough protein gram for gram to live off of. Except that they supply incomplete Protein Chains. I'm not absolutely positive that makes an ultimate difference, but I'm pretty sure it causes your body to handle those proteins differently.

Where do you get your B12 from as a vegan?

I appreciate you taking the time to respond to an unbeliever like myself and hope to have many more differences of opinion in the future.

Loading...

To not stretch that post out longer, I'll do another.
To address the protein bit, that's untrue and another myth, as the only difference is that plants are not flesh, and thus they do not have the same proportions as it, and thus it won't compare to it.
However, unless you eat just corn or something of the such, you're more than fine.
I can provide a overview of what I eat and how that compares in a day, or what I sometimes feed the kids I babysit if they eat what I eat, and show you how that's so.
Essentially if you want to do it yourself and experiment, go to a site called cronometer.com
It has all the amino acids done out, the essential ones, and all nutrients, simply add in the USDA measurements or similar and it'll have all the nutritional information.

Furthermore, how protein works is you have essentially a pool that circulates around your body of a few hundred grams, which when muscle is broken down it'll re-circulate what it can and reuse it.
Usually you will have 100-300 grams circulating, of all the types of amino acids, mostly the ones you need as it'll mostly be recycled proteins (flesh/muscle), and when you eat more you simply top-off that supply.
Because of this you do not need to even achieve all essential aminos every day, or even every second day, and really won't have a negative impact for weeks till your circulating supply of that amino becomes low, which unless you eat one single food (really a grain) that won't happen.
Beans, potatoes, greens, they're all very well balanced, and honey who eats corn all day (kenya).

B12 was naturally found by us when we drank from dirty creeks and simply lived our daily lives. If you go camping, even if you filter water, you'll get enough b12 from contamination of food or grimy hands.
Because we don't live there most people are b12 deficient. Eating grass fed local buzzword buzzword buzzwords, yes, you'd not have b12 deficiency.
But I don't either, as I can simply rub dirt into my food, or take a pill or injection, which is what I would advise.
Meat only has b12 because of bacteria in the soil they may be eating when munching on grass (ha), you can get that same bacteria isolated without all the bad things of meat for literally less than a cent a day.


As for sugar, it depends, as I eat abnormally high-carb, even for a vegan, I easily get 150g of sugar a day if I eat fruit for breakfast, although I eat a lot, however at the same time I easily get 80-140g of fiber a day, which funnily enough is apparently what scientists found paleo-poop to contain.
Because of that the sugar takes a long time to get into the bloodstream, so there's less spikes, as well as because I don't eat fatty things (essentially anything animal is fatty unless heavily trimmed, oil, etc) typically, blood sugar stays low because nothing is clogging up blood-flow (fat).
My dads a diabetic who doesn't change his meat eating ways and I've used his meter to display the changes, and as long as my fat isn't above about 20% I can literally have 600g of sugar a day and have no blood sugar problems, which is hard to even achieve and isn't the most fun as, well, sometimes you want something warm and potatoes and beans don't have sugar in the strict sense.

I'll take time for anyone if they'll take the time to read it or at least make an argument as even if only 1 in 100 change their mind, that's likely multiple kids who aren't raised with bad foods and every little bit counts.

How can something being fatty be bad if saturated fats are what the body uses to make replacement cells for your skin and your brain? I mean, yeah, your body will turn other things into fat to make those cells but it's been shown that it'll go after fat first as choices of building blocks.

Where do you think the B12 in the dirt comes from? Those bacteria are produced and live in digestive tracts. Ruminants reabsorb that B12 into their meat by re-eating previously digested food, humans don't get that option unless they're eating ruminant meat or their own poop (or the crap of others, though I think that goes against the 'no animal byproducts' part of veganism. Not sure where that line is drawn, or if it's a moral imperative or not.).

Loading...

If you want me to shorten things in the future I can by the way, but I'd have to be less detailed.

Vegan-wise as long as the animal consents, which means harvesting shit in the forest that was abandoned there, or buying or using another persons is fine, vegan-wise.

Yes, it originally (maybe?) came from poo/digestion, but it thrives in the dirt on it's own now.
Still like I said it's a non-issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63