You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 Helpful/Easy Ways To “Trick” Your Kids Into Treating Themselves With Fruits and Veggies! Get Your Kids Loving to Eat 'Em! 🍊🍉🍈🍇

in #health7 years ago

Your ideas here are top notch. I've definitely found that having my kids help me in the garden, from planting seeds, watering and watching the little sprouts, to observing the plants as they grow and fruit, and PATIENTLY waiting for the fruits to ripen....all of this helps them get more nutrition and UNDERSTANDING of how their food grows and where it can come from, AND the miracle of nature and growing food. Just yesterday one of our cucumbers was finally ready, after many days of pseudo-patience, and we snipped it off together and one of my kids ate nearly the entire thing while walking around the back yard, asking everyone to try it because it was "so sweet". Thanks @heart-to-heart for spreading this message!

Sort:  

Hi @jaymorebeet I just love hearing this! I wish this was more common! I know so many parents say they don't have time to plant a garden but I have a certificate in "easy gardening" basically haha well really, it's called permaculture but the idea is to make things less work and work for you as you work with it instead of against it. The principles are so simple to implement and I see such amazing benefits and results from the kids being involved like you're speaking about! I bet that cucumber was so delicious and so much healthier for you! MOM AWARD! <3

Oh man I can't wait to see more of your posts on permaculture - I don't have a lot of space, but it's something I'd love to get more into. You're right that the feeling of 'fighting' nature to grow things just doesn't seem right. Let's just all get along, shall we?! Thanks for the Mom Award. I'll be expecting my trophy in the mail any day now right? :)

I was traveling this week and just got home to see my eggplants had sprouted from their flowers, tiny babies coming to life! It's so exciting (especially because they are purple and beautiful!) Yes for sure, I have been meaning to do more gardening/permaculture posts however, as I am sure you have noticed by now, my creativity is a bit jumbled into everything haha I need more time in the day to express everything it wants me to! Especially with my garden springing to life, I'll make sure to get on it! I'd be happy to help you get your veggies growing 💜 Ya, with mail the way it is, customs and imports... soon! 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68