This Week's Top 10 Healthy Hits - Sleeping Naked, Brainwashed Ants, and Pickle Juice

in #health8 years ago

Each Friday I take the week's previous health posts and give you the top 10 picks. As an avid rugby player, health and fitness is a big interest for me and a category that I'd love to see take off here on Steemit. Please take the time to read and follow the work of these great authors! Remember too, that it is not too late to upvote these posts. Even though most have passed their initial payout period, they are still eligible for their second payout. So show them some love! Let us know your results and don't forget to follow me to get this list every week!


Wild Fermentations: Homemade Ginger Turmeric Ale

We love DIY fermented fizzy drinks. They are delicious and packed with health-promoting nutrients, beneficial enzymes, and probiotics or friendly gut bacteria to keep sickness at bay.

A growing body of scientific evidence suggests that you can treat and even prevent some of our modern illnesses with foods and drinks that contain certain kinds of live bacteria.

Fermented drinks and foods have been a recent discovery of mine. Kombucha, Sauerkraut, Jun, Kefir, etc. have all become staples of my diet. @amy-goodrich presents a new fermentation that I plan on adding to my repertoire and you should too!

Top 5 Hidden Health Benefits of Kissing Your Lover

Regardless of where you fall on this debate, there is no doubt that it is a powerful way to bond with your love one...but what about the health benefit?

@cryptoctopus brings a new perspective to the smooch! I selected this article because it's such a unique way to stay healthy!

Anwen Meditates - 11 Yoga Poses For Digestion Plus Fresh Squeezed Pear Juice

Today on anwen-meditates I want to share 11 yoga poses that I practice to aid digestion. These poses can be practiced if your stomach is feeling a bit off, or just as a preventive measure to keep your digestive tract healthy and happy.

@anwenbaumeister is an author I'm sure you all know. The diversity and quality of her work is nothing short of impressive and this post is no different. While I have practiced yoga on and off over the course of my rugby career, I didn't realize that certain poses aided in digestion! I will certainly be trying these on my own.

3 Super Spices with Healing Powers in Pakistani Cuisine

Most of the spices used in Pakistani food comprise of antimicrobial properties thus accounting for their healthfulness. The style of food preparation throughout the country is almost the same with certain modifications that reflect the cultural and ethnic diversity of the country.

It's easy to get into a rut when you cook a lot. I find that all of my dishes start to gravitate together and taste the same, if left to my own devices. These spices are going to make a great addition to my diet and will surely add some new flavors to my menu!

My First Experience with Cordyceps, an Ancient Chinese Medicine

It grows out of insect's bodies or occasionally off of other fungi. That may sound unpleasant but the benefits are absolutely wonderful.

Cordyceps Sinensis is a supplement that I've been wanting to try for a while now. I didn't realize how interesting its lifecycle is! Brain-washed ants? Fascinating! @noganoo is another author that has a broad range of topics and subjects, and is an enjoyable follow!

3 Surprise Remedies for Reversing Acid Reflux

So you were binge-watching Stranger Things and ate too many jalapeño chips. We've all been there. Now you're thinking of going to sleep but your stomach is screaming at you for all the wrongs you've done it. Brush off the jalapeño dust and throw back one of these unexpected reflux remedies.

I read quite a bit in the health category, not just on Steemit, but all over the internet. I had truly never heard of these reflux remedies and was surprised by them. If you need quick relief, don't grab an antacid. Grab a pickle jar!

5 Fitness Common Fitness Beliefs (That Aren’t True At All)

There’s a ton of fitness information on the internet, in magazines, on TV, and elsewhere. Some of it is legit. Unfortunately, a lot of it is total BS.

@sabot provides an excellent list of some of the most common fitness myths. One of these myths is even posted on all of the mirrors at the gym that I workout at. These myths have become so pervasive that many people just consider them facts. This is an important read for any fitness buff.

I Sleep Naked, and So Should You--Some Pretty Awesome Benefits of Going Commando in Bed

When I was 18, I started sleeping naked. I've never stopped.

This is a practice that is so easy to do. It's a minor tweak that can completely change the quality of your sleep. I've been sleeping this way for a while and @stephmckenzie provides some great info about the great health benefits!

Wildcrafted Medicine: The Incredible Healing Properties of the Common "Weed" DANDELION

Dandelions are dishonored by many gardeners, treated as common weeds and even sprayed with toxic chemicals for attempted eradication. This perception is an absolute travesty, because dandelion is a powerful all-around remedy.

In my part of the world, you can find dandelions everywhere! As temperatures drop I like to take my dandelion in a tea. It has a great taste when combined with some wildflower honey. This post by @gardenofeden will help you to familiarize yourself with this powerhouse weed!

Ten Facts Everyone Need To Know About Dementia (Are Young People Immune?)

Contrary to popular belief, Dementia is not just a condition that affects the older generations. These misconceptions towards the illness, have left us all believing, that we are ‘safe’ from the cruelty of Dementia. However, we couldn't be further from the truth.

Dementia is a condition that is close to home for me. It runs in both sides of my family and my grandfather is currently in the beginning stages of the disease. A lot of my interest in health and fitness is in the cognitive realm because of this. You can see this in some of my first articles here on Steemit.


Thanks for reading through the list, following and upvoting the authors, and following me! Keep an eye out each Friday for a new list with new articles from the best minds in health on Steemit!

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention, @jaredcwillis! I appreciate it. Great job with compiling your list. There's some excellent information here.

Thanks! I would have liked to see a bit more activity, but I think it will take some time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91