How You Can Make Your Brain 11 Years Younger!

in #health6 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I'm a big fan of anti-aging supplements and techniques so I was rather
pleasantly surprised when I saw the study results from a research
group called The Memory and Aging Project. They're doing an on-
going study of 950 men and women aged 58 through 99.

Here's a link to the study:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3439198/

The participants of the study record their food intake and then are
tested with memory and thinking skills each year.

What the study has found is that people who ate an average of 1.3
servings of leafy greens a day (about a cup of raw lettuce or just over a
half-cup of cooked spinach or kale) had a brain that was the
equivalent of a person who was 11 years younger than those who
ate almost no leafy green vegetables.

salad-791891_960_720.jpg
source

That's 11 years younger folks! That's amazing. And by doing
something as simple as eating a cup of greens everyday? Are you
kiddin me? Can you find any other way to make such a dramatic
affect on your health?

Ha! I thought this was going to be some high tech supplement or
something that they were testing out! lol. Most guys I know aren't
fond of salads or even refuse to eat them but you just gotta do it if
that's you. The health benefits just for the brain alone are wonderful.

I'm so thankful the we got on the Keto eating plan because I was
having problems with forgetting things, especially names, but once
we got on Keto that changed dramatically. Now the only thing I suffer
from occasionally is Steemit Brain Fog which Jack was nice enough
to show us what that looks like:
IMG_20180921_042552.jpg

Well, now I'm not skipping a salad like I do on some days, what about
you guys?
DQmaGiJ5Exn5zL4cJEFVahrn96ozJ8bVTWeXhqznp28SYy2_1680x8400.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know....you might just be a redneck if:

You've been married 3 times but your inlaws are still the same people!

Sort:  

We like our salad, even hubby enjoys it. Lettuce, tomatoes, orange, sometimes apple, diced avocado, sometimes spinach, boiled eggs. Sometimes we throw in meat, not all the time though.

I really haven't found a good salad dressing recipe so for now, we just eat it with salt & pepper. It's pretty darn good if I may say so.

hahaha Jack knows steemit brain fog huh?

yes Ma'am Jack is in Steemit Brain Fog more than I am! lol. He was the best thing about the post for sure. Hey I went over to your blog today and are you a tech person or something because your latest post might as well be in Latin! lol.
I had no idea what that was about but I'm going back over there later.

But..oh..orange in a salad huh? we don't do that but that sounds great. What do you do, cut it up in small pieces?

Haha it's not that Latin. I'm a tech person, I don't usually post techy stuff since when I signed up for an account I was leaning on making it about blogging and homesteading.

Yes, orange in salad. Cut it up in small pieces. You'd be surprised. Apple too makes it great for the crunch part. i haven't tried adding nuts though.

howdy back lovenfreedom! thanks for the advice on the salad, if I'm going to eat one everyday I think I'll put everything in it to make it different each time! Hope you guys are doing great.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

well howdy there yehey! thank you so much for the upvote, I really appreciate it and all you do to help others! God bless you.

Glad to know I can help.

I wonder if the brain of a 15 year old is what I need now...lol. Howdy Janton

hahaha! hard to say there empress but that sounds very interesting. If your brain can be 15 years younger then to have the brain of a 15 year old must mean that you're 26 years old!

Wow, you do the salad thing and you'll be an immature kid again!

I really like the greens but still don't eat enough of them. Now I have a reason to double down on them though lol.

Jack has the right idea as a nap sounds pretty inviting right now! Great ending to your post too LOL

howdy there tamaralovelace! yeah it's an excellent reason for eating salds, my goal is to have some everyday for sure, I need all the help I can get!

And Jack..lol...yes he made the post work , in my opinion, without even trying! Thank you so much for reading and commenting.

Janton, Janton , Janton!! The gift that keeps giving! This is a post was expecting one of those European snowflakes you always talk about to put up this post. But out you come with this gold! 😂.A bowl of rabbit food makes you 11 years younger??? Hahahaha. What a load of crap! Carrots make you see better in the dark too they say but thats a load of crap too.

haha! hey I need to keep up with the young minds here so I'll try anything! besides a real man eats salads.

I think you should contact the doctors at the research group and present your reasons why their study is flawed, I'm sure they'd love to hear from you, that's why I included their link.

I know it's a little long to read but if you ever read my profile it says anti-aging so every once-in-a-while I get side tracked by that subject hard to believe as it is because there's no shooting or bloodshed! lol.

Carrots do strengthen your eye muscles but I don't know about the seeing in the dark part, will have to research that but most all of Ireland is in the dark about healthy lifestyles so I'm not surprised that you have no knowledge of it. hehehe

Ah only joking @janton . It was a good post. You will live forever anyway. But if you don’t , leave a few steem power for me in that big will of yours when you stop eating the rabbit food. 😀😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha! sir blanchy! oh I knew you were only kidding or course! I love that, hey what's funny is my wife saw your reply and said "hey someone disagrees with you." I said who is it?'

she says "blanchy" lol.. I just laughed and said no he doesn't, don't worry about it!
I love not having to be so dang polite and tip toeing around kissing everyone's feet you know?? lol.
I'm just thankful that I found one of the few Irishmen who actually learned to read. Probably in a stupid gun-free zone with no protection! lol.

😂😂😂. I learnt the alphabet from my dad who engraved the letters on a bark of a tree. Hard times back then. A chisel and mallot was my first pencil. Yep a gun free zone! We don't need protection over here. We are meat eating civilised human beings. Hey did you get back that 6 Steem dollars I sent back to you. Probably put in under the mattress again eh?😉

haha! you're so funny blanchy...especially when you're serious and not trying to be! lol. gun free zone...chisel and mallot!! lol..

ya know what I'm a dinosaur when it comes to financial stuff, I haven't looked at my wallet for a few day so I'll go look now thanks.

My kid ate a bunch of carrots when she was little. She never did see in the dark but she turned yellow and pooped orange for a while. 🎨

😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahaha! thanks headchange for that vivid contribution, I appreciate the feedback and comment!

Anti-aging supplements? Like you are using some cream and face masks too!? :D

Eat your greens! This is what you hear from the time that you are able to chew on your own food, lol! And apparently it is for a reason :)

well well well...look who finally found something palatable enough to read! lol. Yes science backs up your mom's admonitions to eat your vegetables! I love that.

Yes I'm very interested in high -tech anti-aging supplements but just about researching them, not taking them, at least not yet but they are always coming out with better and more effective products.

but you're too young to be concerned with that stuff. right?

Well well well, I'm sure you're writing these posts to catch my attention, lol!!!

You're right! I haven't looked at these things yet and I think I still have a couple of years before I start :)

ha! I thought you'd like the subject matter. I used to do more of the health and food posts actually but with the heat we stopped doing much in the kitchen, it's the hottest spot in the house.

Did you just get up? I'm trying to call it quits, I'm really but people keep replying to me.
Hey did you see my scorpion post?

I try to eat healthy but it's just so much dang work. That's why I finally said screw it and started buying those leafy greens powders. Why eat some kale when you can choke down 30 different plants at once? It tastes like a swamp's ass but that's the sacrifice we make to be lazy.

ahahaha howdy sir themadgoat! you can make anything topic sound funny, I agree the powders are the way to go for many of us, I like that stuff even if it tastes a little bland. lol.
I take it you're not married or else your wife might be dealing with the hassles of healthy meals?

I'm not married, but I've got a woman who's been riding my ass for ten years about it. I do all the cooking because I'm better at it, but most nights lately I'm just too tired to bother. She hates my health potions because I always make a mess with them. She calls it my "Green Slop." What has two thumbs and doesn't care? This guy!

howdy back madgoat...no no no...that can't be! lol. you mean you eat that stuff and she doesn't eat much of anything since she doesn't like the Green Slop? Surely she fixes food on her own then right?

You're too tired to care because you're working alot of hours?

Haha, janton, yes there is a very good reasons eat lots of greens and other healthy vegetables. So we can now expect some really exceptional writing from you now that your brain is 11 years young, lol.

I wouldn't hold my breath for that one angiemitchell! lol. but I will think about this study when I don't feel like a salad which is almost every day! lol.

Steemit brain fog is a thing! We all have it! 😅

right like you get steemit brain fog. from what? what causes you to get it blacklux? commenting all day right? and trying to remember who you told what to? lol.

Too much posts and comments, too little time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01