Body Language

in #health6 years ago (edited)

You aren’t the body, the body is your friend, your ally in life.

Become aware of the body, by allowing it to tell you how it feels. Never label the message it sends and it’s needs will become clear. The body has its very own wisdom.

Life is a flow. So are you and I, but we block the flow by neglecting pain or discomfort. When we don’t acknowledge, and therefore resolve our feelings as they come up, and instead hide from them and bury them, tensions form in the flow of our energy and awareness. This creates a type of “hanging on” to the past in our awareness.

When we reach in anticipation for what we expect to come next because of memory, we pull ourselves out of balance, we shade reality with our expectation, and reality responds in kind.

Expectations are sneaky things we hold onto. Especially in our bodies. Especially when it comes to our consciousness. How can you not already be expecting yourself to be in the consciousness, in the way your body felt, that you were in five seconds ago unless you knew you could choose differently.

Once you release the body from the demand to stay in the past, in your thoughts based on memory, it really wants to fix itself. It will tell you how, just wait and listen.

We need to be open to how our bodies work. We need it to tell us, since we are not the body. We are awareness itself and must become aware of the body’s needs if we want to heal it.

Usually we can just ask the body what it wants…

Don’t be afraid to fart or burp, start considering purging a necessary, and therefore good, function.

Don’t be afraid to stretch as hard as you can, everytime my daughter wakes up from a nap she stretches her whole body like a good bed stretch, baby’s know what they need because they listen to their body.

Don’t be afraid to move, whenever you feel like it. Movement is one of the main forms of expression, yet we limit our expression in the name of being normal or not looking weird in front of others. Movement should be fun.

Don’t limit your body’s automatic functioning, you might have indigestion, or need to be breathing hard after going up ten flights of stairs, or need to scratch that itch. Our body tells us what it needs.

And don’t take it for granted, pay attention to its needs and functioning and it will repay you in kind.

"Your body is precious, it is the vehicle for awakening, treat it with care"
-Buddha

Love your body and let it love you back.

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed the article I appreciate all your upvotes, resteems, comments, and follows

@jakeybrown

Sort:  

This was a good reminder. I notice also that my dog stretches quite often. Even when I'm about to pick her up, she notices that I'm about to and gives herself a good stretch first, then sits up so that I can more easily pick her up. She has no problem making me wait for her to be done with her preparation first. She seems to consider stretching preparation for all movement. Really.

I resonate with so much of what you wrote. Let's build a movement for more normalization of the fact that people are designed for movement and it doesn't mean you have some disorder to not sit rock still for hours at a time.

There's an art to stretching that babies and animals know inherently, we know it too, the ol bed stretch. It's like holding you breath or pressurizing the diaphragm and then reeeeaaaaching with everything. That's my favorite stretching but sometimes I can't do it. Works best in a bed.

It's my feeling that many of us lack the ability to fully express because our bodies are so damaged. Body language is more than half our communication when we are near the person I think. I'm totally game to get people moving, it's kind of my focus in regards to spirituality though I've been working through some other stuff lately. Sitting is death for long periods, its the new smoking and whatnot. It's been a rough year for me and being sedentary with work, baby, and steemit, but I'm getting back in the groove with new weather. I really wanna be a part of some kind of spiritual group and should have more time coming up!

Reading this made me think of the importance of silence. Of just listening...to our surroundings...to nature...to our bodies...to our minds.....

We are usually in such a constant state of upheaval...on the go from one thought to the next. Many traditions talk about the importance of focusing upon breath...just breathe and focus upon it....how novel....and how many of us do it.

Present moment thinking is not something we excel at. Most of us are in worry or regret...in fear or guilt...both other time modes as opposed to being here and now.

The body exercise is a wonderful way to get present. It is also our connection to the 5D realm....consciousness comes through the body.

The world is always speaking... Most of us just don't want to hear it or don't know how yet.

both other time modes as opposed to being here and now.

and here and now is all there actually is too!

Can you explain 5D? I keep hearing the term but haven't really understood what people are talking about when they say it

consciousness comes through the body.

I think this is something overlooked often, that our bodies are spiritual too, they can express consciousness. Sometimes I feel like I've taken spirituality too intellectually when back in the day my entire practice was running, hiking, and yoga. I've got a good blend going now

Sage advice on simply being, on letting yourself go and floating along with the river of life. listening to your body enables an insight into the subconscious for the two are profoundly linked, indeed your body is often the first to let you know about underlying stresses and strains .. we would do well to listen to it. I use a Feng Shui analogy because we must also allow the free flow of energy throughout our bodies. My main problem is due to work and steemit I spend far too much time on the laptop and that's where I need to find a balance.

I use a Feng Shui analogy because we must also allow the free flow of energy throughout our bodies.

Oooh, do a feng shui post when you have time!

Allowing the energy flow while observing it and using the body can be a tricky balance to get down, but once we do it opens the door to healing.

My main problem is due to work and steemit I spend far too much time on the laptop and that's where I need to find a balance

Ya, I struggled with this earlier this year, my advice is get/build a standing desk and spend 15 minutes a day working out kinks, doing self massage, doing yoga, or taking 5 minute breaks every hour for some light calisthenics while you work

Well written and good advice

Congratulations @jakeybrown! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @jakeybrown , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "rocky1"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94